Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
LOVE this recipe! I don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These bring back memories! I love pepperoni rolls, and we always had them as a kid (grew up in the MOV). This is a delicious recipe and will be a keeper. The only things I changed were reducing the sugar to half, adding a little mozzarella cheese and using vegetarian pepperoni. These came out great. I also did the egg wash and sprinkled garlic salt and italian seasoning like others suggested, although the pepperoni rolls we had growing up didn't have any fancy egg wash! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
It's funny because I am from WV and I had no idea pepperoni rolls were so famous from West By God Virginia, lol! This is an amazing recipe however I cut mine in half. I only use 3 cups of flour, 1 egg, 1 tsp salt and little less butter, 1/2 cup sugar and I add some garlic to my bread! This makes 2 very large logs! I baked my logs @ 375 for 15-20 min depending on how they browned. The first batch I added cheese, sauce and ton of cheese and they were so yummy but I could not get the dough on the inside to cook right even after I put them back in the oven. The second batch I did everything the same but left out the sauce and they were not doughy. I am still going to experiment with the sauce because it really made a big difference but it tasted raw on the inside bottom, yuck! The only thing that I must say is an absolute must that another reader wrote, you must melt the butter with pepperoni and put it on top. I make mine in logs not rolls. I made two last night one without the mixture on top and the other with the mixture. My husband laughed and asked me if I was trying to kill him when I first melted the butter with the pepperoni and put it on top. Yes, it's very greasy but it's amazing! We really don't like the one without that on top it changes the flavor! This is a keeper thank you so much for sharing! I have baked 4 in the past week! Very simple and yummy they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Add some pizza sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I used the actual recipe for two things: 1. the idea and 2. for the baking temp/time. Other than that I winged it. I used my own roll recipe and used cheese in the middle with the pepperoni. I also did an egg wash on top and sprinkled the rolls with garlic and italian seasoning before baking. They turned out great! My husband kept raving over how good they looked, and how they were like individual strombolli pizzas. We will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
cup of sugar in dough makes the difference. add motz cheese to center w pepp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Originally from the 'Burgh, and when I asked my 28 yr old son what food he wanted for his birthday, he said "Pepperoni rolls like you used to make". Since I had lost the recipe, I luckily found yours!! I did make just a couple tiny alterations-not with the dough! Just in using a small block of mozzarella on top of the pepperoni & a sprinkle of garlic powder; then after sealing, in a small bowl I placed 4 slices of pepperoni & a couple tbl. of butter and microwaved it till it infused the melted butter with the pepperoni. I then brushed that on top of the rolls, sprinkled with alittle garlic powder & popped in the oven. After baking I brushed them again with the "pepperoni butter" and I have to say they were GONE in minutes. So fast that I had to make another batch! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAgirlgoneSouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. Did not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Yum! I carmelized onions and chopped some chorizo sausage as a filler along with shredded cheese and red sauce (instead of pepperoni.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States