Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We enjoyed these very much. I used whole wheat flour, coconut oil instead of butter (nothing against butter, just running low), and 1/2 c. honey instead of sugar in the dough. I still thought these were awfully sweet and would definitely cut back the honey next time and maybe add herbs and garlic to the dough. Added just a smidge of cheese to each roll b/c I knew my hubby would prefer it that way. I didn't hear any complaints as he polished off nearly half a batch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Using the "change servings" feature next to the place where it says this makes 20 rolls, I opted for only 10 servings as there is only my husband and me at home now. It still turned out perfectly and it was so easy, too. Taking some advice from others, I did add some thinly sliced cheese with the pepperoni (Pepper Jack... but I'm sure most other cheeses would be fine according to your own tastes and menu) and that was very nice. However, this is also great just as directed. The slight sweetness is something unexpected and only adds to the character of this bread. Thanks so much for sharing this kaoscarson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was the best. I did cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added garlic and Italian herbs to the bread. Made it as pepperoni rolls first and now making them as "hot pockets" stuffed with everything from pepperoni to ham to tonight is leftover pot roast stuffed inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
First time making pepperoni rolls ever and they came out great! I cut the sugar to 1/2C. because of previous reviews and added a sprinkle of cheese w/ the pepperoni (I didn't have sliced, so I sliced & quartered a stick of pepperoni). Used spray Parkay for a buttery topping after I took out of oven. This recipe is GREAT w/ cheese and/or pepperoni. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauLara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These were delicious while still warm, but only OK once they cooled off: when they cooled, I think the dough got heavier. Also, I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, and they were still plenty sweet. I might try even less sugar next time. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My husband used to go to a bakery several times a week for pepperoni rolls, until I made these. I use a little less sugar in the dough, add mozzeralla cheese inside and sprinkle parmesan cheese on top of the rolls. I also make 10 large rolls instead of 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I modified the recipe a bit, and with the modifications, these rolls turned out great. For one, I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup. In addition, I added mozzarella cheese and Italian seasoning in the dough. I also put a minimum of 5 pepperoni slices in each roll. Finally, I brushed the tops with melted butter and sprinkled Italian seasoning and garlic salt on top. I really liked the contrast of the sweet dough and salty pepperonis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These are very delicious! I gave some to my husband to take in to work and everyone there approved of them too. The sweetness of the sugar is perfect with the flavor of the pepperoni. I may even try making some rolls without pepperoni because the bread dough turned out so great. It's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Real good,but I like to add just a little pizza sauce,and alittle shredded cheddar cheese.Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alice faye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These are fabulous - a lunchbox staple at my house. I use my bread maker, set on the dough cycle. I have also made ham and cheese rolls with recipe. Place 1 slice deli ham (use paper towel to squeeze out extra water) and about a half of slice of cheddar cheese in each roll instead of pepperoni. They freeze perfectly and are thawed by lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States