Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I absolutely loved this with the few changes i made to the recipe. first, i cut the sugar in half. then i added cheddar cheese (3/4 cup)and minced garlic( 2 teaspoons) to the dough. I put mozzerella( a small handful) in between the layers of pepperoni and put an egg wash and a little oregano on the tops before baking. They were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is a recipe for "pepperoni roll dough"! It's suppose to be sweet! I am from WV and this is perfect! It's not suppose to be a dinner roll type dough. Try it out as written, don't change anything. Then, and only then, comment if you like it or not. What you decide to change the next time you make it is up to you. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We enjoyed these very much. I used whole wheat flour, coconut oil instead of butter (nothing against butter, just running low), and 1/2 c. honey instead of sugar in the dough. I still thought these were awfully sweet and would definitely cut back the honey next time and maybe add herbs and garlic to the dough. Added just a smidge of cheese to each roll b/c I knew my hubby would prefer it that way. I didn't hear any complaints as he polished off nearly half a batch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Using the "change servings" feature next to the place where it says this makes 20 rolls, I opted for only 10 servings as there is only my husband and me at home now. It still turned out perfectly and it was so easy, too. Taking some advice from others, I did add some thinly sliced cheese with the pepperoni (Pepper Jack... but I'm sure most other cheeses would be fine according to your own tastes and menu) and that was very nice. However, this is also great just as directed. The slight sweetness is something unexpected and only adds to the character of this bread. Thanks so much for sharing this kaoscarson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was the best. I did cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added garlic and Italian herbs to the bread. Made it as pepperoni rolls first and now making them as "hot pockets" stuffed with everything from pepperoni to ham to tonight is leftover pot roast stuffed inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
First time making pepperoni rolls ever and they came out great! I cut the sugar to 1/2C. because of previous reviews and added a sprinkle of cheese w/ the pepperoni (I didn't have sliced, so I sliced & quartered a stick of pepperoni). Used spray Parkay for a buttery topping after I took out of oven. This recipe is GREAT w/ cheese and/or pepperoni. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauLara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These were delicious while still warm, but only OK once they cooled off: when they cooled, I think the dough got heavier. Also, I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, and they were still plenty sweet. I might try even less sugar next time. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My husband used to go to a bakery several times a week for pepperoni rolls, until I made these. I use a little less sugar in the dough, add mozzeralla cheese inside and sprinkle parmesan cheese on top of the rolls. I also make 10 large rolls instead of 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I modified the recipe a bit, and with the modifications, these rolls turned out great. For one, I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup. In addition, I added mozzarella cheese and Italian seasoning in the dough. I also put a minimum of 5 pepperoni slices in each roll. Finally, I brushed the tops with melted butter and sprinkled Italian seasoning and garlic salt on top. I really liked the contrast of the sweet dough and salty pepperonis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These are very delicious! I gave some to my husband to take in to work and everyone there approved of them too. The sweetness of the sugar is perfect with the flavor of the pepperoni. I may even try making some rolls without pepperoni because the bread dough turned out so great. It's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States