Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I make pepperoni rolls similar to this! I was born, raised, and still live in WV. Love our pepperoni rolls! See how I make them: http://mrscrislip.wordpress.com/2014/04/10/pepperoni-rolls-almost-heaven/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I love this recipe for the dough. I use all ingredients as stated, but make on the dough setting of my bread machine. I then use the dough to make larger pepperoni bread loaves. It makes 3 HUGE or 4 average size loaves, approximately 14 inches long. I roll out the dough, spread with melted butter, sprinkle garlic powder, line with sliced provolone, and then use an entire pouch of Hormel sliced pepperoni between the loaves. Bake at 350 for approximately 30-40 min, depending on size of loaves. I think this is the only recipe for pepperoni bread dough that I have come across that gives the "defining taste" for pepperoni bread in SW Pennsylvania. Thank you so much for sharing kaoscarson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Going back to the old fashion mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is a new family favorite. It's simple. The kids love it. I made a couple of changes. I upped the yeast to a tablespoon, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 honey in it's place. If the temp where the dough is rising isn't really warm, it makes a huge difference in rising time as well. These keep for a long time, and taste good warmed up. Even in the microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
My family really enjoyed These!! I reduced the sugar added a cube of Colby jack cheese in each of them with the pepperoni!! I think next time im going to try my pizza dough recipe and make them these were a tad bready then what i expected but try them you wont regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I absolutely loved this with the few changes i made to the recipe. first, i cut the sugar in half. then i added cheddar cheese (3/4 cup)and minced garlic( 2 teaspoons) to the dough. I put mozzerella( a small handful) in between the layers of pepperoni and put an egg wash and a little oregano on the tops before baking. They were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is a recipe for "pepperoni roll dough"! It's suppose to be sweet! I am from WV and this is perfect! It's not suppose to be a dinner roll type dough. Try it out as written, don't change anything. Then, and only then, comment if you like it or not. What you decide to change the next time you make it is up to you. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We enjoyed these very much. I used whole wheat flour, coconut oil instead of butter (nothing against butter, just running low), and 1/2 c. honey instead of sugar in the dough. I still thought these were awfully sweet and would definitely cut back the honey next time and maybe add herbs and garlic to the dough. Added just a smidge of cheese to each roll b/c I knew my hubby would prefer it that way. I didn't hear any complaints as he polished off nearly half a batch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Using the "change servings" feature next to the place where it says this makes 20 rolls, I opted for only 10 servings as there is only my husband and me at home now. It still turned out perfectly and it was so easy, too. Taking some advice from others, I did add some thinly sliced cheese with the pepperoni (Pepper Jack... but I'm sure most other cheeses would be fine according to your own tastes and menu) and that was very nice. However, this is also great just as directed. The slight sweetness is something unexpected and only adds to the character of this bread. Thanks so much for sharing this kaoscarson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was the best. I did cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added garlic and Italian herbs to the bread. Made it as pepperoni rolls first and now making them as "hot pockets" stuffed with everything from pepperoni to ham to tonight is leftover pot roast stuffed inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States