Pepperoni Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a quick and simple meal that the whole family will enjoy, although I will suggest a change for the kiddos, use a crushed tomato or a tomato sauce as opposed to diced tomatoes. It really didn't take long to make and I had all of the ingredients on hand. We did have to salt a bit for flavor, but next time I will amp up some of the other seasonings. Anyways, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I did not have shallots, I used half of a sweet onion instead. I did throw in a tad red pepper flake, some fresh ground pepper, a touch salt and a good amount more parmesan cheese. The boys inhaled this--NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
We used onions instead of shallots and canned, diced tomatoes instead of fresh and this still was a big hit! We also added some leftover Italian sausage. Very delicious and easy! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Liked it a lot. I would make it again. It was different from the regular chicken & pasta or sausage & pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have made hundreds of recipes on this site and I think this is only my second review. This was so easy and delish! I don't believe I altered the recipe enough to speak of but here I think I did combine some steps...I used sliced packaged pepperoni and just cut it into strips. I sauted them with the onion and garlic. Then added a can of stewed tomatoes and let it cook down a couple of minutes then I added the whipping cream and let that cook up for about 5-8 minutes. Then I tossed it with my cooked pasta...yum. My picky 7 and 10 year olds loved it and so did my 1 year old. Just enough kick for them. I skipped the parsley and the parm cheese, but I'm sure that wold make it even better. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I’m sorry to say this was quite disappointing. The pepperoni totally dominated this dish and made it taste quite salty and, we love our salt. I used green onions for the shallots and canned tomatoes that were seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano. I also thought basil would be a better choice, so I used that instead of parsley. Since I had a stick of pepperoni, in hindsight I should have diced the pepperoni instead of slicing it. While sautéing, the sliced pepperoni domed up and looked very unappealing. The sauce was tasty, which helped this a little. I won’t be making this again, but for those of you who want to give it a try, I’d suggest cutting way back on the pepperoni, so it will enhance the flavor of the sauce, rather than overpower it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wow. This is one of the best pasta dishes I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Love it! Did 2 more garlic cloves and probably 4 tbsp of shallots instead of 2, but did everything else the same and it was delishus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good. I did have to change the recipe a little bit. I was running late with dinner and needed something quick. This was perfect. I used garden rotini pasta, canned tomatoes, onion instead of shallots and added some green pepper and spinach. Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Deliscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bueller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cobb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States