Pepperoni Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I used onions instead of shallots, canned tomatoes instead of fresh, added some green olives and instead of cream used 1 cup of skim milk w/2 TBS of flour. Outstanding! Will definately make again. The calorie count has to be substantially less with the skim milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very good. I used two cans of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and added oregano, basil and crushed red pepper. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
WOW! A Big hit!! THis dish is easy to make and very tasty! I used spicy pepperoni for extra kick..My boyfriend thought it was the best pasta dish he has ever had! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PONYGIRL64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I thought this was really good!! I added more onion and garlic than what the recipe called for, and also added some crushed red chillies for some zing. Didn't have heavy cream, so used milk with 2 spoons of flour, worked great. Tried the leftovers with rotini noodles but just not the same, needs the penne. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very easy to make and popular! I've made a few adjustments, like minced onions instead of shallots, and doubling the sauce. It's always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I’m sorry to say this was quite disappointing. The pepperoni totally dominated this dish and made it taste quite salty and, we love our salt. I used green onions for the shallots and canned tomatoes that were seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano. I also thought basil would be a better choice, so I used that instead of parsley. Since I had a stick of pepperoni, in hindsight I should have diced the pepperoni instead of slicing it. While sautéing, the sliced pepperoni domed up and looked very unappealing. The sauce was tasty, which helped this a little. I won’t be making this again, but for those of you who want to give it a try, I’d suggest cutting way back on the pepperoni, so it will enhance the flavor of the sauce, rather than overpower it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Was expecting this to be more like Penne Rose... the sauce didn't thicken at all and wasn't very flavorful. Only changes to the recipe were subbing basil for the parsley and adding one chopped green pepper with the onion. If I make again, I'd probably add kalamata olives and some red pepper flakes as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Can't give it a 5 star rating because I didn't have some items and had to substitute. I used sandwich pepperoni, which I cut with kitchen sheer into long strips. After they cooked I removed from pan. Since there was a trace of grease I wiped out the pan and sautee'd garlic and tomatoes with a bit of olive oil. I didn't peel the tomatoes. I didn't have heavy cream or evaporated milk for the sauce so I used regular milk and made a roux with some flour. I added pepper but not salt because of the type of pepperoni I used. I will make this again with all the ingredients stated next time to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Pretty bland. Could have used something more to add some zing. Maybe a couple more cloves of garlic and some more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Not quite what we expected but worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States