Pepperoni Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is the ONLY way to eat pepperoni! I've been doing this for years. If you get all of the oil out of it it's crispy like bacon and better for you. But, you don't need to bake it in the oven, you can just put it in a microwave oven. Just heat the slices and check on them every 20 seconds or so. And, don't bother with the cajun seasoning. Holy salt Batman! Pepperoni is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
These were alright. I followed this exactly and turned my back for a couple of minutes after I sopped up the oil and there was smoke coming out of the oven! It was very late at night and I was so worried the fire alarm would go off and wake everybody up. I grabbed the cookie sheet and ran with it outside. They were burnt...so I figured it was my fault. So i trashed them I made a 2nd batch. I sopped up the oil after a few minutes and they immediately started to smoke again and once again I had to run outside with the smoking pepperoni! This time they were NOT burnt after everything was said and done my house was smokey and smelled like pepperoni. I wont make these in the oven again...just not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I concur that these are all right. They really taste like crispy bacon, only spicier. With the cajun seasoning, they are even spicier! The first bite I took must've been one of the slices I sprinkled a little too much seasoning on bc my mouth was a bit on fire after it. When all is said and done, not so sure these are my favorite. If you love crispy, spicy bacon, these are wonderful. I tried them a couple of different ways because not all of the pepperoni fit on the pan the first time. I tried it with the cajun seasoning first, then baked without. Either way isn't too bad--just a matter of taste. If you like spicy and are worried about the salt, there are a few salt free cajun spice mixes on here that you could use. If you're not a big fan of spicy, I would recommend you not use the cajun seasoning. However, I'm not a huge fan of crispy bacon and so I don't think it's quite for me. Still, I am glad I tried them. Took a bit of time and effort and now I know what they taste like! :o) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I love these. I have used this method prior to adding them to my pizza. No grease on the cheese! It also works throwing them in the deep fryer. This renders out most the fat making them a bit better to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These were pretty good! It is a definate MUST that you keep a close eye on them, as I was not paying attention and they got a little darker than I would've liked. I made 1/2 a batch w/ cajun seasoning and the other 1/2 plain. I liked both, but the plain ones were definatley less salty. The little guy loved these, but I knew he would because he LOVES pepperoni. I used 'sandwich pepperoni' because that's what I had. I may try these again sometime! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
VERY LOW CARB!! WHEN I WAS DOING ATKINS THIS WAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE SNACKS!!! ALONG WITH CHEESE CRISPS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These were great! I used turkey pepperoni - tastes just like bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Interesting idea! It works, but I don't salivate for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Miner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These are yummy! They taste like bacon and I ate all of them. Good thing I bought a party pack of pepperoni. My family didn't feel the same way about them though, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
We make these in the microwave all the time. Place the pepperoni on paper towels on top of a paper plate for just a few seconds. The paper towels soak up all the grease. The kids love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States