Peppernotter (Scandinavian Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Good cookie but made a few changes to the recipe.... I added 1 cup butter, baking soda instead of baking powder, almond extract instead of nuts and baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. First round I did follow recipe but they were very hard and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make these for Xmas every year, along with other types of cookie. I usually add more pepper and more sugar-- to make them more sweet and more peppery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Turned out awesome! I added the juice of an orange instead of the water to the glaze topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
For those who found these cookies a little bland, try adding 1 teaspoon of salt to the recipe. Salt brings out the flavor in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Always wanted to find a recipe like this! I omitted the black pepper and instead added 1/2 tsp white pepper instead, and also added 1/2 tsp salt. I rolled the cookies into balls, then in some raw sugar, flatted with a flat glass. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Cookies did not flatten out like picture shows, but I fixed this on my second batch by flattening the tops, and they were bland. I would recommend adding more spices for more flavor. Also make sure to wait until they are completely cooled before adding the glaze on top. Cookies were ok but I will not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I agree with Tina, this turned out rather bland. Living in Europe, I tend to double the dose of anything 'spicy', in american recipes (as I did for this one), 2 and a half cups of flour would be better, I agree. I also triple the garlic for American recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This cookie did not spread out as pictured but instead stayed as round balls and very hard. I would use 2-2/12 cups of flour and increase all of the spices, almonds and lemon juice for a more flavorful cookie. I used all brand new spices and they turned out at best as mildly flavored. I was looking forward to the black pepper taste but it was lost in all that flour I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Good, but not as flavorful as I had hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These turned out delicious! I love the spiciness as they go really well with tea and coffee. The only difference I'm gonna try next time is putting some jam in the middle. Like strawberry or black berry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States