Peppernotter (Scandinavian Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Cookies did not flatten out like picture shows, but I fixed this on my second batch by flattening the tops, and they were bland. I would recommend adding more spices for more flavor. Also make sure to wait until they are completely cooled before adding the glaze on top. Cookies were ok but I will not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I agree with Tina, this turned out rather bland. Living in Europe, I tend to double the dose of anything 'spicy', in american recipes (as I did for this one), 2 and a half cups of flour would be better, I agree. I also triple the garlic for American recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Always wanted to find a recipe like this! I omitted the black pepper and instead added 1/2 tsp white pepper instead, and also added 1/2 tsp salt. I rolled the cookies into balls, then in some raw sugar, flatted with a flat glass. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Good, but not as flavorful as I had hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made these for a cookie exchange party and my husband keeps eating them. He loves the spicy flavor. Super easy to make and it was nice that I had all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cranbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This cookie did not spread out as pictured but instead stayed as round balls and very hard. I would use 2-2/12 cups of flour and increase all of the spices, almonds and lemon juice for a more flavorful cookie. I used all brand new spices and they turned out at best as mildly flavored. I was looking forward to the black pepper taste but it was lost in all that flour I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These turned out delicious! I love the spiciness as they go really well with tea and coffee. The only difference I'm gonna try next time is putting some jam in the middle. Like strawberry or black berry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make these for Xmas every year, along with other types of cookie. I usually add more pepper and more sugar-- to make them more sweet and more peppery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
For those who found these cookies a little bland, try adding 1 teaspoon of salt to the recipe. Salt brings out the flavor in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Good cookie but made a few changes to the recipe.... I added 1 cup butter, baking soda instead of baking powder, almond extract instead of nuts and baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. First round I did follow recipe but they were very hard and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States