Peppermint Patty Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I thought that I could help with some of the problems that people are having with making these cookies. My family has been making these at Christmas for generations. We don't melt any chocolate chips for the cookie dough though. The recipe that we use is very similar. The only other changes are twice as much butter, twice the flour, omitting the baking powder and adding 1 tsp. baking soda. The mini peppermint patties we leave whole. Chilling the dough for two hours will help alot. Wrap the dough around the patty and then put the shaped cookies in the refrigerator to chill again while the oven preheats. Baking this on parchment lined baking sheets helps also. I hope this helps others. I know that there is alot of prep involved but the cookies are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This is a really great recipe. I used Peppermint "Bites" for this but would also use Jr. Mints. Instead of wrapping the dough around the mint, I just pushed one into the top of the dropped dough. This way they came out perfect, no leaking and a great big mint-chocolate centre. I do not use the icing sugar as it would be hard to roll this batter into a ball. I drop by TBSP onto a cookie sheet so it makes about 18 cookies. Really easy and very yummy. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I made these cookies twice because they didn't turn out too well the first time. Tips: 1) Do not use Jr. Mints in place of Peppermint Patties. Jr. Mints have a more liquid center and will leak out of the cookie dough, making a big mess and making the dough crunchy- almost candy like. 2) Prepare dough and chill it for a half hour to an hour before attempting to wrap it around the quartered peppermint pattie. 3) Use parchment paper when baking to keep cookies from sticking to cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Really good! I used Jr. Mints instead of peppermint patty. They tend to stick to pan, Silpat liner solved the problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was a really good recipe except I had to add about a cup of extra flour. I also found out you have to roll the balls pretty large to avoid the peppermint from leaking out. I decided on a no go for the powdered sugar as it wouldn't last on the cookie more than a day or so. I used regular semi-sweet chocolate chips since the York patty was pepperminty enough for me. It's been a hit so far though, and I plan on keeping this cookie as part of my cookie tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I have used this recipe quite a few times now and I have tried making this a couple of different ways. I also could not find mint chips so I used semi sweet and added peppermint extract until they were to my liking. I have also found that if you don't want that minty mess all over your cookie sheets then you have to make your cookies bigger. I only get about 2 dozen cookies, but I have not had the melted mess problem since I made them bigger. I also used spoons to get the peppermint patty in the center so that I didn't get completely messy. I also do not roll them a second time in the powdered sugar, I sprinkle the powdered sugar on with a flour sifter after baking them. I love this recipe and will use it again, and I only gave it 4 stars because these cookies are a chore to make, but if you are up to it, they are really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I have made these a few times. You need to refrigerate the dough for a few hours. I used the big York candy bar and cut big pieces and froze them before putting them in the center of the cookies. This will eliminate any spreading. Also this is a 9 minute cookie this way. Make a bigger cookie and be sure to cover your mint completely. I didn't have any leakage. I used regular semi sweet chips in the sugar mixture and mini semi sweet in the dough. I just thought that there was way too much mint in this recipe for my tastes. Great holiday cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I have made this many time. I have gone one step further in reducing my holiday stress though. Although it is wonderful to make it all from scratch if you have the time, if you don't, don't worry! It works great using pilbury(or another brand) premade dough. I make balls out of the dough and bury about a half of a peppermint patty in the center. Then I roll the top in colored sugar for the holiday cheer. It's a favorite among my family and friends. I have to make it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLIM!!!
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Out of about 30+ types of cookies I made this Chrismas, this was the most requested recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
These are great cookies. I could not find mint chocolate chips so I used regular and then added peppermint extract. I found it best to refrigerate the dough for at least an hour before trying to roll the dough around the peppermint patty quarter. I also used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 margarine. I find using half and half makes great cookies. These will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States