Peppermint Patty Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SLIM!!!
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Out of about 30+ types of cookies I made this Chrismas, this was the most requested recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe turned out to be a disaster. The cookies spread and the mints melted into a gooey mess on the cookie sheet. Dough was extremely sticky. Ended up throwing the remaining batter and the gooey mess on the cookie sheets away. Wish I had read the reviews before I tried these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These were tasty. The mint flavor is very powerful. If you like mint, you'll like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
These are great cookies. I could not find mint chocolate chips so I used regular and then added peppermint extract. I found it best to refrigerate the dough for at least an hour before trying to roll the dough around the peppermint patty quarter. I also used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 margarine. I find using half and half makes great cookies. These will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I found these cookies to be an absolute disaster. The mints leaked all over the tray and I practically needed a blowtorch to remove the mess from the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This cookie was really good--I'll tell you about my mistake: I accidentally bought MINI chips instead of MINT chips. They turned out pleasantly minty, but I'm interested to see how much more minty they are with the mint chips! Also, I did add 1/2 cup more flour so they were easier to roll into balls. They did spread out into a typical cookie shape, so I dusted them with powdered sugar instead of rolling after baking. Even thought they didn't hold a ball shape, they looked pretty. I think next time I'll add even more flour; I'd like them to stay in the ball shape. The Peppermint Patty kind of melted throughout the inside of the cookie and it was nice to bite into a minty part throughout the whole cookie. Overall, a thumbs up, even though I made a mistake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
The only reason I give this recipe 4 stars instead of five, is the fine tuning of the flour. These cookies are DELICIOUS! Though I find you have to add at least a half a cup of extra flour, as some of the first batches I made turned into runny, gooey messes on the cookie sheet, the extra flour solved that problem. I usually roll the cookies in granulated sugar first instead of powdered suger, makes them look even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
These chewy, minty, yummy cookies are a huge hit whenever I make them. They've nearly replaced cakes as the birthday treat of choice in our family. They're a bit time consuming, since you have to shape the dough around the peppermint patty, but well worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I made these cookies last year for the holidays, and the requests have begun to pile in for them this year. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This is a really great recipe. I used Peppermint "Bites" for this but would also use Jr. Mints. Instead of wrapping the dough around the mint, I just pushed one into the top of the dropped dough. This way they came out perfect, no leaking and a great big mint-chocolate centre. I do not use the icing sugar as it would be hard to roll this batter into a ball. I drop by TBSP onto a cookie sheet so it makes about 18 cookies. Really easy and very yummy. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States