Peppermint Patty Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SLIM!!!
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Out of about 30+ types of cookies I made this Chrismas, this was the most requested recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe turned out to be a disaster. The cookies spread and the mints melted into a gooey mess on the cookie sheet. Dough was extremely sticky. Ended up throwing the remaining batter and the gooey mess on the cookie sheets away. Wish I had read the reviews before I tried these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These were tasty. The mint flavor is very powerful. If you like mint, you'll like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
These are great cookies. I could not find mint chocolate chips so I used regular and then added peppermint extract. I found it best to refrigerate the dough for at least an hour before trying to roll the dough around the peppermint patty quarter. I also used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 margarine. I find using half and half makes great cookies. These will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I found these cookies to be an absolute disaster. The mints leaked all over the tray and I practically needed a blowtorch to remove the mess from the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This cookie was really good--I'll tell you about my mistake: I accidentally bought MINI chips instead of MINT chips. They turned out pleasantly minty, but I'm interested to see how much more minty they are with the mint chips! Also, I did add 1/2 cup more flour so they were easier to roll into balls. They did spread out into a typical cookie shape, so I dusted them with powdered sugar instead of rolling after baking. Even thought they didn't hold a ball shape, they looked pretty. I think next time I'll add even more flour; I'd like them to stay in the ball shape. The Peppermint Patty kind of melted throughout the inside of the cookie and it was nice to bite into a minty part throughout the whole cookie. Overall, a thumbs up, even though I made a mistake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
The only reason I give this recipe 4 stars instead of five, is the fine tuning of the flour. These cookies are DELICIOUS! Though I find you have to add at least a half a cup of extra flour, as some of the first batches I made turned into runny, gooey messes on the cookie sheet, the extra flour solved that problem. I usually roll the cookies in granulated sugar first instead of powdered suger, makes them look even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
These chewy, minty, yummy cookies are a huge hit whenever I make them. They've nearly replaced cakes as the birthday treat of choice in our family. They're a bit time consuming, since you have to shape the dough around the peppermint patty, but well worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I made these cookies last year for the holidays, and the requests have begun to pile in for them this year. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This is a really great recipe. I used Peppermint "Bites" for this but would also use Jr. Mints. Instead of wrapping the dough around the mint, I just pushed one into the top of the dropped dough. This way they came out perfect, no leaking and a great big mint-chocolate centre. I do not use the icing sugar as it would be hard to roll this batter into a ball. I drop by TBSP onto a cookie sheet so it makes about 18 cookies. Really easy and very yummy. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States