Peppermint Patty Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
These cookies taste great! Like previously mentioned, add 1/2 cup of flour and use semisweet chocolate chips instead of mint chocolate chips to cut down the minty flavor a little. Also, line the pan with parchment paper to prevent sticking. One suggestion, use the new white and dark chocolate swirled chips to give the cookies a neat look. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Loved these cookies! They were a PITA to make, but so worth it. I added the extra 1/2 c. of flour, and I couldn't find mint chocolate chips, so I used regular chips and melted a few peppermint patties in with them. Worked just as well...The outside of the cookie was crispier than I liked, but they were still yummy. My husband ate most of them! I gave this recipe 4 stars, only because of the work it is to make them, and the crispiness of the outside of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I took advice from the other posts and added another cup of flour to the recipe and the cookie kept a good shape and the peppermint patty did not melt everywhere. I also greased the pan. I did not add the melted mint chips to the dough nor did I add any others to the dough, instead I melted extra peppermint patties, a few milk chocolate chips, and a little bit of milk in a double boiler and coated the tops with that. The mixture was about the consistency of honey and it hardened on the tops after it was completely cooled. That way you don't have to cover them all and those who don't like mint as much can just eat the ones without the extra on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Great cookies...definitely need 2 cups of flour though, mine didn't stay in the ball shape but were still excellent! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
These are great. Easy to make and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
my colleagues at work loved this cookie! but I used regular chocolate chips, not mint. I did use peppermint patties for the filling though - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I couldn't find mint chips at my grocery, so I bought mini semisweet chocolate chips and peppermint extract. I melted the chocolate in a double boiler and added 1/4 tsp of the extract while the chips were melting. As per other ratings, I let the dough refrigerate for 1/2 hour to 1 hour before rolling into balls. The dough was still a little sticky, but nothing that was a pain to deal with. I found that a whole tablespoon of dough was a little too much as they do spread when baking, so I used about half of that. I didn't roll them in powdered sugar again after baking. This recipe made wonderful, soft cookies. That yummy melted patty in the center is just great! I didn't have a problem with any "gooey mess" on my cookie sheet either. I did use York Peppermint Patties and not the cheaper brand like others suggested. Everyone LOVED these cookies!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
These are terrific and I'll make them again. Everyone loved them - except those who don't like peppermint! They were a bit messy to make - the dough sticking to my hands when trying to cover the mint. I found that rolling them around in the powedered sugar in a bowl helped them to take shape instead of trying to make them round in my hands. Next time I'll make them smaller too. They spread so adhere to 1-1/2" apart. Thanks for this wonderful recipe...I'll make them every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I made these cookies with a friend of mine and we both agree that the did not live up to our expectations. The mint spilled out, they didn't hold their shape, and they were just overall very minty. I felt that the mint was overpowering to the little amount of chocolate in the cookie. We were not very happy with how they turned out. It took a lot of time and was not quite worth the effort. It was a good experience to try something new and very different. We must admit if you love mint enough you may just enjoy this creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States