Peppermint Patty Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Yummy, didn't last long at our house! Make this recipe every year for christmas by request of family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Easy to make, not so easy to eat. Mine came out drippy, and got dried out really quickly. I followed the recipe exactly and was just not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
A great cookie! I make them year after year at Christmas time. I make them exactly as the recipe calls for...but I have ran out of the mint segments that you put in the middle.( I doubled the recipe, but didn't have enough mint patties) So I made the rest just like normal cookies, and they turned out awesome! So either way I love this recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHELLYBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These cookies taste great and are a holiday favorite in my family. The only problem is that they're a little messy to make. The dough is always too sticky. I guess adding more flour would help, but I've never tried it. No matter what, temporarily messy hands are a small price to pay for a delicious cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was a really good recipe except I had to add about a cup of extra flour. I also found out you have to roll the balls pretty large to avoid the peppermint from leaking out. I decided on a no go for the powdered sugar as it wouldn't last on the cookie more than a day or so. I used regular semi-sweet chocolate chips since the York patty was pepperminty enough for me. It's been a hit so far though, and I plan on keeping this cookie as part of my cookie tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Delicious - this is now one of my Christmas Cookie staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I have used this recipe quite a few times now and I have tried making this a couple of different ways. I also could not find mint chips so I used semi sweet and added peppermint extract until they were to my liking. I have also found that if you don't want that minty mess all over your cookie sheets then you have to make your cookies bigger. I only get about 2 dozen cookies, but I have not had the melted mess problem since I made them bigger. I also used spoons to get the peppermint patty in the center so that I didn't get completely messy. I also do not roll them a second time in the powdered sugar, I sprinkle the powdered sugar on with a flour sifter after baking them. I love this recipe and will use it again, and I only gave it 4 stars because these cookies are a chore to make, but if you are up to it, they are really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I have made these a few times. You need to refrigerate the dough for a few hours. I used the big York candy bar and cut big pieces and froze them before putting them in the center of the cookies. This will eliminate any spreading. Also this is a 9 minute cookie this way. Make a bigger cookie and be sure to cover your mint completely. I didn't have any leakage. I used regular semi sweet chips in the sugar mixture and mini semi sweet in the dough. I just thought that there was way too much mint in this recipe for my tastes. Great holiday cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I thought that I could help with some of the problems that people are having with making these cookies. My family has been making these at Christmas for generations. We don't melt any chocolate chips for the cookie dough though. The recipe that we use is very similar. The only other changes are twice as much butter, twice the flour, omitting the baking powder and adding 1 tsp. baking soda. The mini peppermint patties we leave whole. Chilling the dough for two hours will help alot. Wrap the dough around the patty and then put the shaped cookies in the refrigerator to chill again while the oven preheats. Baking this on parchment lined baking sheets helps also. I hope this helps others. I know that there is alot of prep involved but the cookies are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I have made this many time. I have gone one step further in reducing my holiday stress though. Although it is wonderful to make it all from scratch if you have the time, if you don't, don't worry! It works great using pilbury(or another brand) premade dough. I make balls out of the dough and bury about a half of a peppermint patty in the center. Then I roll the top in colored sugar for the holiday cheer. It's a favorite among my family and friends. I have to make it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States