Peppermint Patty Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
These brownies rock!! I've had this recipe for a long time, and the original recipe actually calls for 1 1/2 c. MELTED butter or margarine. I prefer to use butter, so this may help to alleviate the sticking on the bottom of the pan. Also, I usually push the peppermint patties into the first layer of mixture, then top with the rest, so they won't poke through in cooking. Other than that, this is a good time, and I hope this helped!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Everyone has raved about these brownies each time I've made them. A few suggestions that have worked for me: four eggs work fine. Make them in two square pans instead of a 9x13. Don't bake them the whole time - they'll burn. And, most important, use YORK patties -- the cheapo ones I bought at Costco melted into a gooey mess and tasted strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have made these for years -- always my husband's request for Father's Day and birthdays. I always make them in a metal 9x12 cake pan and I only put enough batter on the bottom to cover the pan (thick, but less than half the batter on the bottom) -- it always seems to require more than half the batter to cover the peppermint patty layer. When in doubt, undercook! You can almost never get an accurate toothpick reading because of the peppermint brownies, so I generally take them out when the edges start to crisp and the middle is set when I give the pan a giggle. I also think it helps not to overbeat the batter. Too much time in the mixer or the oven will make them dry and cakey, at which point they're really not worth eating. But a good, gooey center underneath that crisp, flaky top layer? Absolute heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I love these. Of course they are better from scratch, but I ALWAYS have brownie mixes and a bag of yorks (I buy the regular size for cheap after Christmas) on hand. Prepare 2 boxes of mix as directed, then follow this recipe from step 3... great for those last-minute occasions when you need something yummy quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
These had a rich dark appearance, great gooey texture, and a refreshing mint flavor. Make sure you watch them the last 15 minutes or so of baking - I took mine out about 10 minutes before the recipe said to because they were getting a little crispy around the edges. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I didn't follow the brownie part of this recipe (I'm lazy...I used a box), but am rating the concept, anyway to show how diverse the recipe is; you could use it w/any brownie recipe. What a simple way for a creme de menth type brownie. Be sure to fully cover your patties w/brownie batter and make sure the patties aren't touching the sides of the pan. THANKS for a great recipe, Pam (next time, I'll use your brownie recipe, too)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I'm glad I gave this recipe another try. I made it when it first appeared in magazine ads, with less-than-desirable results. The edges were burned, and the patties oozed and stuck to the sides of the pan. Having said that, this time I lined the long side of the pan with parchment paper, sprayed the paper with cooking spray, and greased the short sides of the pan. Melted butter worked better for me (for the batter), and I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, as this was all I had. It takes a little care to spread the bottom layer of batter on the paper in the pan but is doable, and I made sure that the patties were positioned 1/2-inch in from all the sides. I placed a sheet pan on the rack below the brownie pan in the oven; this helps with heat distribution and has prevented burning. The brownies took the full 55 minutes in my oven, and they were perfect---no burned edges, and the middle was cooked but not dry. The Special Dark cocoa makes these extra-rich. Now that I know that, with a few extra steps, these are a success for me, I'll definitely make them more often---especially for gifts or pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Brownie was very good and mildly minty. I tend to like brownies 'fudgy' as opposed to 'cakey'. These were a bit 'cakey' for me so next time a will try 4 eggs to see if that helps. I did spray the pan with nonstick spray to avoid the trouble getting them out of the pan that other reviewers were having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I have made this recipe for years now. Everyone loves it. I have taken to baking it in 2 half pans, one with peppermint patties, the other with peanut butter cups. Everyone seems to have their favorite and it works well. Reduce the baking time by 10 minutes at least for peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I don't know what went wrong with these. 55 mins was way too long in my oven. I had to take it out after 25 mins. The brownie wasn't moist, kind of dry and the peppermint patties didn't melt. It was just a peppermint patty stuck inside a dry brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States