Peppermint Patty Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
After reading the list of sinful ingredients, I knew I had to make them...and I wasn't disappointed! These brownies are rich, moist and yummy. It's best to use real butter, which adds to the richness. I've probably made these brownies 30 times over the years and they're always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made these last night, and when I came here to write about it I found out I wrote a review several years ago. And not a favorable one. The recipe here is the same on the Hershey's site. I've made these before and they never looked as pretty as the photos and came out as a gooey mess. I decided to attempt again but this time I only used 18 patties and froze the patties before I put them in the pan. This helped them keep their shape as they baked. I also used butter instead of margarine. Found the baking time of 55 minutes just right. Used a metal 13x8 pan. As far as brownies go, this is not a recipe I would make outside of Christmas season. I like the patties added to make this more of a Christmas treat. Glad I tried again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These were fantastic! Make sure you let them cool completely before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
YUM! Someone brought these brownies into work the other day and just had to have the recipe. A quick search brought me here, and it came out great when I made it. A few reviewers mentioned that they were really hard to get out of the pan, so I sprayed my pan with Pam and also floured the pan. Also, I only had 1 cup of butter on hand, so I decided to halve the recipe and it still came out awesome. I cooked it for about 35-40 mins. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Huge hit!!! Everyone loved them!! Definitly will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE2129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Rutherford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
These are the best brownies in the world. They taste great with ice cream. I have even tried them crushed and mixed into ice cream. I love these brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
These brownies rock!! I've had this recipe for a long time, and the original recipe actually calls for 1 1/2 c. MELTED butter or margarine. I prefer to use butter, so this may help to alleviate the sticking on the bottom of the pan. Also, I usually push the peppermint patties into the first layer of mixture, then top with the rest, so they won't poke through in cooking. Other than that, this is a good time, and I hope this helped!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I've made these a few times, and for some reason the finished product is never as good as I'm hoping it will be. Like some other reviewers, I've had problems with the brownies sticking to the bottom of the pan, no matter what I do to prevent it. The patties sometimes explode through the top of the brownies, leaving them uneven and hard (the exposed mint candy hardens like a rock!). The flavor is wonderful, but all in all these are just too much work for the reward. I may try them again with store-bought brownie mix to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
THEY DID NOT TURN OUT AT ALL AND I NEVER HAVE PROBLEMS WITH A RECIPE. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY, BUT THE BROWNIES STUCK IN THE PAN AND YOU COULD NOT GET THEM OUT. I THINK THE PATTIES MELTED THROUGH THE BATTER. I DID USE A GOOD QUALITY NON STICK PAN. ALSO THE TOP FELL APART WHEN CUTTING THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Wow, these rule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States