Peppermint Patty Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I will second the suggestion to use York brand. I tried the other types and all I ended up with was minty sauce under a pan of brownies. Messy and sticky, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENSPAWN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These brownies are absolutely amazing. I can't wait to make them with different candy bars, and even without any candy bars in the middle. The brownie itself is perfection, and it is almost impossible to find a recipe for a perfect cake like brownie. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These were really good!!! Chocolate and peppermint...so good! I definatley recommend the cooking method here (layer of brownie mix on the bottom, then layer of Patties, then top layer of brownie mix) because one time, I tried just chopping up the patties and mixing them all in the batter, but that was a disaster because the patty peices that were on the bottom stuck to the pyrex baking dish. It was IMPOSSIBLE to slice the brownies and get them out in one peice. I ended up with a huge glop of cooked brownines. Definatley much better to have the barrier of brownie batter between the baking dish, and the peppermint patties. Also, I will try adding some Peppermint Extract next time, for more peppermint taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I ended up making Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cup Brownies. I placed nine snack size Reese`s Pieces half an inch in from the all four sides of the pan as suggested. These were snack size, not the mini size chocolates. I will add a few mini`s next time here and there I think. I just like more of a good thing, but they were delicious as made! OH MY GOODNESS they were a hit. I followed a tip, and used butter, as I have very soft healthy spreadable margarine. This type of margarine gets very watery when melted. **Hard squares of margarine like Imperial, are much better for baking purposes. I used all 5 eggs, and used the measurements given for each ingredient. I also carefully spread less then half the batter in the bottom of the pan to make sure there was enough batter left over to cover the larger Peanut Butter Cups. I found that saving more batter for the top worked well. I checked them at 50 minutes and they were a little under done. It was hard to judge with the chocolate`s melted inside, I tested in several spots. I followed the directions, and baked them for the full 55 minutes. I had perfect results. I set my oven to the stated temperature, mine is a convection oven, this automatically changes the temperature to convection. OUR FAVOURITE results, they were fudgy, chewy, inside with a thin, crispy top. Perfect!**We made mint brownies too with 35 mini mints, topped with fudge icing from the back of the Hershey Chocolate Chip bag. **Make these !! So delicious! OUR new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
LOVE is the word for these! Sooo good everyone loved these. Made me famous lol thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecookingal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I'm glad I gave this recipe another try. I made it when it first appeared in magazine ads, with less-than-desirable results. The edges were burned, and the patties oozed and stuck to the sides of the pan. Having said that, this time I lined the long side of the pan with parchment paper, sprayed the paper with cooking spray, and greased the short sides of the pan. Melted butter worked better for me (for the batter), and I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, as this was all I had. It takes a little care to spread the bottom layer of batter on the paper in the pan but is doable, and I made sure that the patties were positioned 1/2-inch in from all the sides. I placed a sheet pan on the rack below the brownie pan in the oven; this helps with heat distribution and has prevented burning. The brownies took the full 55 minutes in my oven, and they were perfect---no burned edges, and the middle was cooked but not dry. The Special Dark cocoa makes these extra-rich. Now that I know that, with a few extra steps, these are a success for me, I'll definitely make them more often---especially for gifts or pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
so naughty but soooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWISER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I don't know what went wrong with these. 55 mins was way too long in my oven. I had to take it out after 25 mins. The brownie wasn't moist, kind of dry and the peppermint patties didn't melt. It was just a peppermint patty stuck inside a dry brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. I made mine the day before a party...by the time the party came around they were hard as a rock so I'm not sure what happened there. However...the flavor was EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These brownies were good but not as good as I thought they would be. They were very dense and I prefer my brownies fudgy not cakey but tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States