Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
These are a lot of work but are soooo good! I make them as written. The only difference is we serve them right out of the freezer. Chocolate is all crunchy and the center stays a wonderful texture. Resist the urge to make them too thick. They are much better on the thin side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
i loved this recipe but i found it was easier to flatten the patties with my palm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Make around Christmas time and that will be the biggest talk of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I just made these today and they are amazing! I used the suggestions to reduce the powdered sugar by 1/2 cup and add an additional teaspoon of peppermint. The main thing I changed on my own is that I actually rolled them out and used my small biscuit cutter to make them all uniform in size. Worked perfectly! I just had to put a little extra p.s. on the waxed paper first. I will definitely make these again. I actually think they are better than York!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe! Simple, but great. I didn't stick to the measurements exactly since I wanted to use the whole can of sweetened condensed milk, but you want to eyeball the addition of the confectioners' sugar anyway--keep adding it until the "dough" is no longer sticky. Will definitely make these again, and maybe more adventurously so... the dough can easily be molded into fun shapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a very nice recipe. One reviewer suggested using 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar instead of the stated 4 cups in the recipe. I used a stand mixer to incorporate the ingredients, but added 1/4 cup more powdered sugar, as it is still a bit tacky to handle. You can chill them for 10 or 15 minutes prior to dipping them in the chocolate. I would suggest the melted chocolate be at room temperature; otherwise, the patties will disentegrate. You can also use a two-tine fork to dip the patties (find them at Michaels where they have baking supplies), which I found more useful than household forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Everyone LOVED them!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I must have made them thinner because I got twice as much out of the batter. I ended up using a lot more shortening to thin the chocolate to dipping consistency. I loved them and so did everyone I gave them to for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tasty, but a real pain to make. Too melty to include in treat bags as I intended. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The taste is amazing but I'm deducting some star points for the recipe technique. Oh my goodness did I ever have a time getting a single patty coated with chocolate without a complete breakdown/melting of the patty. Finally had success spooning chocolate on the patties, letting it set, and flipping to cover the other side. Also did a batch with cinnamon extract. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States