Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
It took forever for the patties to "dry" and you really need to use parchment paper because they stick to the wax paper. They had to dry overnight and then the chocolate mixture was too thick. I thinned it a little bit but they were still falling apart and I have no idea if they will ever set up without having to keep them stored in the freezer. What good is that? I read the "what to drink" suggestions at the side and think you should skip making the candy and just drink the port!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Oh my goodness! I've never made candy before and I am proud to say these came out wonderfully. I used a candy mold, so I made them slightly different. I filled the mold up 1/3 of the way with three different kinds of chocolate to see which one would go best with the filling (dark chocolate was by far the best). I brushed the chocolate up the sides and put in the fridge to harden. I put a small ball of the filling into the truffle and topped with more melted chocolate. I left out the shortening (personal preference). These were amazing and I will definitely use these as additional Xmas gifts later this month!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fantabulous!!!!! These are soooooooooooooooooo Yummy! Very rich yet I can't get enough. Thank you for the recipe! I'll definitely be using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
made these for Christmas presents. They can out wonderful and easy. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Everyone raved about these and begged me for this recipe. It is my absolute favourite! I put more peppermint than called for, as I like mine SUPER minty. Also, I am lazy and I just roll them into balls - small ones. I find they are easier to dip in chocolate that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
The patties came out beautifully and taste really yummy. I thought I was being smart using white chocolate with green food color to decorate the top but the white chocolate really takes away from the peppermint flavor so next time I'll just use mint choco chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
these were great - like the store bought ones but better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These taste great, but I found it time consuming and frustrating to dip them in the chocolate. The chocolate was so thick that I had to add quite a bit more shortening. I first tried adding cream like one of the other reviewers said, but that made it worse. I don't think that if I had tried to dip them withough freezing them it would have worked at all. The flavor, however, was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
So yummy ! really easy to make if you are an amazing baker and overall cook like me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Lovely little candies. Had a heck of a time coating them though lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States