Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Just made these for Fathers Day and they were great! We live in England so we can't get peppermint patties and these were an admirable substitute. A few changes...I melted a broken up bar of dark chocolate in the microwave with a few teaspoons of butter to get a good consistence for dipping. Also, after making the patties, I let them rest if the refrigerator for a few hours before dipping them in the chocolate with a fork. Had no problems with them falling apart. Also, used peppermint oil instead of extract because I felt that the extract did not provide enough of a strong peppermint flavor. Only use a few drop of the oil, however, as it is very strong. Overall, everyone was very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made these for a Christmas party one year, and while I had doubled the batch, I left with an empty plate. They are not for the inexperienced, but I had a good time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was harder than it looked. I finally gave up after doing half of the batch and made rocky road out of the rest of it. That turned out great! The patties tasted good but I couldn't get them to dip without melting. I froze them for an hour before I tried. Any suggestions? Or is it just practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
VERY GOOD! Tastes just like a York Peppermint Patty! I only used 2 3/4 cups of confectioner's sugar because it started to get too dry and crumbly. I used a cookie scoop to form the balls so they would all be the same size. Be careful not to press them too thin as it would take more chocolate to cover and taste too chocolaty. I froze them prior to covering with chocolate. Placed in a tin and put in the refrigerator, they are going to be a welcome treat. Thank you PATTY STOCKTON for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These are awesome! I used LorAnn peppermint flavoring oil and it took 12 drops to get the mint strength about the same as a York. I started by mixing 4 drops in with the sweetened condensed milk, added the powdered sugar, kneaded and then tested. Added 4 more drops, kneaded again, etc. I used a better quality chocolate instead of chocolate chips. This recipe made 4 dozen patties, each about the size of a half dollar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These are just like York peppermint patties. I went ahead and used the entire 14.5 oz. can of condensed milk and just added a half t. of extra extract and extra sugar slowly until it seemed the right consistency. I might have added too much because the "dough" was a little dry and difficult to roll into balls. I used the bottom of a glass to flatten. Some of them cracked around the edges when flattened, making them not smooth circles, again, maybe because I used too much sugar. I made a double boiler to melt the chocolate and used some parafin to thin it out instead of shortening. I used a fork to dip and scraped the bottom of the fork against the bowl as I took it out. This kept them neat. I used another reviewer's suggestion of pushing the bottom of the fork lightly atop each patty after dipping to create the York "grooves" on the top. This made about 80 patties. Using the parafin I had extra chocolate leftover which I put in a jar in the fridge to use for my next dipping project. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The only reason I gave it four stars was because the mint was very sweet. The second batch I made I cut the powdered sugar back to 3 cups and it was perfect. Otherwise, great recipe, it reminded me of the York peppermint patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wow...just follow the directions. These are DELISH. Great Recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i made these, as another review suggested, in a candy mold. that made the process a lot easier and faster for me. i hate hate hate peppermint, but i love these. mabey the amount of peppermint is not so offensive to my palette. plus a little chocolate makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used this recipe and added food coloring to make red/green ones that were half dipped in chocolate. I ended up making the patties too big and they cracked when I dipped them in chocolate. However, they were absolutely DELICIOUS! My friends who don't judge the appearance of holiday treats just loved them :) I will have to try again and make them smaller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States