Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have made these twice and they are always a hit. This time, I forgot that the recipe included condensed milk, so I found a substitute: http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,183,151170-244199,00.html (make the full substitute amount, but start with the 3/4 cup as the peppermint patties call for and add additional as needed for consistency). Note also that the substitute is a darker color than condensed milk, so the filling won't be bright white. I like the taste better with condensed milk, but this is still good. For the chocolate, the first time I used store-bought prefab dipping/candy chocolate, which was fine. This time, I used a full bag of Ghirardelli’s bittersweet chocolate chips which tastes really good and doesn't have all the extra stuff in it. If time allowed, I might consider double dipping the chocolate to get a thicker shell. Finally, I immersed the creams in the chocolate and then set them on a wire rack over the chocolate bowl to let the excess drip off for a few seconds (10-15 seconds) before moving them to a sheet of parchment paper to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I wish I could give this 10 stars! These are INCREDIBLE!!! They take a little time to make, but they aren't difficult to work with. I followed the recipe exactly, although I gave up measuring the sugar...I just slowly added more until it got to the consistency I wanted. Other than that, I followed it as written, and am completely in love with this candy! I highly recommend these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I truly am not sure what I am doing wrong here. I used peppermint extract and followed the recipe exactly. I found that the consistency was very watered down and thin. I thought hmmm, let me just put in more powdered sugar to make it thicker. I ended up putting another 2 cups in. Still feeling something wasn't right I still went with it. Taking the advice of others I placed in the freezer hoping that it would firm up. It did a little but was still soft to where you could put your finger impression in it. After looking at the bottle of extract I saw it had over 80% alcohol in it so it wasn't going to set up in the freezer. I did like the way it smelled up my house . Maybe with peppermint oil this time. Hmmm very dissapointed. Didn't even get to use my chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I thought these were delicious! I gradually added in the powdered sugar after 3 cups. I ended up using about 3 1/2 cups I did not use shortening but I did use about 1 tablespoon of corn syrup to help with any dryness. I also used dark chocolate and about 1/10 of a bar of Paraffin Gulf Wax to help chocolate melt to my preferred consistency and prevent melting (come time to eat) too rapidly. I formed patties on wax paper. Placed a toothpick in each patty. Froze for 23-30 mins and when chocolate was nice and melted I dipped each patty and re-froze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These taste way better than the ones you buy in the store and so easy to make (just time consuming). Next time, I think I'll try dark chocolate and I'll use a higher quality chocolate. I scorched the chips somehow so they came out pretty ugly. I suggest a double-boiler to avoid that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These are really good, no doubt; but they are way to technical. I made them a while ago, they were gone so fast! So, i love them, but only after they were made. -- I'm looking for another recipe; Everyone keeps changing this one and it's confusing me now trying to remember what I did. 2 things I do remember: They took a long time to dry (don't forget to flip them 1/2 way, whenever that is). & I unintentionally used just 1 layer of chocolate. I just started sampling & asking for advice (lol). My family & friends said they were great the way they were. ... I hate adding more & more shortening to my chocolate. yuck. (Next melting, I'll use milk to thin, like a review suggested.) My lesson: these are really good, I think they take unnecessary work, & one might save some trouble & dipping if your chocolate is really thick. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My husband loves these! I would definitely follow the advice to chill the patties for a bit before you dip them. The only other challenge for me was that the chocolate coating came out really thick. I guess that's not a real negative for most people :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I make these all through out the winter. Every one loves them. I love them frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I love thias recipe... Big hit with my family at the holidays. The one thing i changed is to let them dry on parchment paper rather wax paper. They do not stick to the parchment when you have to flip them and they dried better on there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These did not work out very well. Someone in the comments suggested using cream or milk to thin out the chocolate, it immediately seized up on me. They white part stuck to the wax paper and dried before I could get them all dipped. Dipping was very difficult. I am not much of a candy maker, so not sure if I'll attempt these again. I had made them for my husband who was overseas and I vacuum sealed them and they were hard as a rock when they got there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States