Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These taste just like the real thing! I mixed the dough in my Kitchenaid, and like another reviewer, cut the sugar to 3 1/2 cups. This turned out to be a mistake. The dough was fine to handle, but after coating with chocolate and sitting at room temp, they are too soft. My bad. The next time I make them (and there will definitely be a next time!), I will use the full 4 cups of sugar. I will also make them a little smaller, they would be easier to manage when coating with chocolate. Very easy to make and very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I ran out of powdered sugar, so the dough was stiff, but not as stiff as it should have been. So, the patties didn't harden at room temp., so I drizzled them with chocolate and froze them. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made these at christmas time and everyone loved them. I will be making these again. I rate these a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
these were really good and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I make these every year for my daughter's friend. They are delicious, but a pain to make... I usually have more chocolate on my hands than on the mint... They are better than any you can buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious recipe. I used 1 can store brand milk (300mL) and tinted the patties green. 3C chocolate chips was way to much for me. I brushed the chocolate on one side, put them in the fridge, and then brushed the other side with chocolate topping them with crushed candy cane. I kept the chocolate warm with my fondue set - it worked great! I will definitely make this recipe again - it takes a long time to make, but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Easy & delicious!!! I will definitely be making this again. I used a whole can of condensed milk, 1 tablespoon & I don't really know how much confectioner's sugar. :-) I just kept adding it until it got too stiff to stir. I powdered the counter with the sugar and kneaded it adding more as necessary. I patted it out to about 1/4 inch thickness & used a dose cup from children's OTC medicine to cut out little rounds. It worked perfect and made the dipping easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
WOW!!!! These taste exactly like, if not better than a real peppermint patties!!!! I was concerned that 1 1/2 teaspoons of peppermint would be a little to strong, but it was perfect. I did a mixture of brushing on the chocolate and spooning on the chocolate. Both worked well. To make the spooned on chocolate look decorative, a few min after putting on the chocolate, tap it with a fork once and it puts a very nice design on the top. I think next time I will make them a one bite size. Thank You for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I ended up only using three cups of the sugar and followed the suggestion of brushing on the chocolate instead of dipping it. I also added a splash of milk to the chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This were amazing! I made a trial batch just in case I can't make them. They turned out great! I only made enough for 15 but ended up getting 21, and they were pretty large. I thought that the filling tasted like a mint Oreo. Yummy! But all in all it turned out great! They were gone by the next morning. I will definitely be making these next week for my Goodie baskets! Oh I also use more shortening in the melted Chocolate, I found that it made it shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echelonbrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States