Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Excellent candy! Note: one of the reviews suggested using cream or milk if thinning is needed. Tried this and whole batch of chocolate solidified (even over double boiler). Luckily had enough chocolate to complete the batch. Used a bit more shortening and all was perfect!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
To much peppermint for me. And then they never did set right and then I wasn't able to dip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I found this recipe on here about 3 months ago & immediately made them. I'm making them every few weeks now because they're always a HUGE HIT...AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
There are some steps missing somewhere. They stuck to the wax paper. The chocolate was not thin enough to dip the patties. When I attempted to dip the patties they melted. I was very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I just finished a batch of the filling right now and tasted it. The peppermint flavor is not as strong as I would like it to be. (I used McCormick pure peppermint extract). I could also still taste the sweetened condensed milk which isn't a flavor that I'd like in this candy. Next time around, I would increase the peppermint extract to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So easy to make but kind of time consuming as far as dipping the chocolate...they were fun to put in little candy gift bags for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These peppermint patties are amazing! The dough wouldn't set on its own, so I froze the patties for a few minutes prior to dipping. No problems afterwards with the patties crumbling in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These are great. Easy and taste just like the boughten ones. Everyone loves them. Can anyone tell me how they stored these patties. I want to make some ahead of time for Christmas and I wasn't sure if they need to be put in the fridge or just stored in a container. If you can help with this please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsGossman
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I changed it a little and It made it SOOO easy and much cleaner! I simply put a little chocolate on the bottom of a cupcake liner and then put in the peppermint patty (after I froze them for 5min) then added a little more chocolate. Froze again for 5mins. They came right out of the liners and all had pretty designs! I used the renolds foil cupcake liners, they seemed to work better than regular cupcake liners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I just made this today and it was delicious! I failed miserably with the chocolate because I've never done this kind of thing before. I ended up somehow making it chunky and the patties melted as I was trying to dip them. So I just gave up and spread the chocolate on top of the patties and just let it set that way. Still turned out yummy, just not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessMariePinup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandywine, Maryland, USA
Living In: Romney, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States