Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I thought these were delicious! I gradually added in the powdered sugar after 3 cups. I ended up using about 3 1/2 cups I did not use shortening but I did use about 1 tablespoon of corn syrup to help with any dryness. I also used dark chocolate and about 1/10 of a bar of Paraffin Gulf Wax to help chocolate melt to my preferred consistency and prevent melting (come time to eat) too rapidly. I formed patties on wax paper. Placed a toothpick in each patty. Froze for 23-30 mins and when chocolate was nice and melted I dipped each patty and re-froze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These taste way better than the ones you buy in the store and so easy to make (just time consuming). Next time, I think I'll try dark chocolate and I'll use a higher quality chocolate. I scorched the chips somehow so they came out pretty ugly. I suggest a double-boiler to avoid that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These are really good, no doubt; but they are way to technical. I made them a while ago, they were gone so fast! So, i love them, but only after they were made. -- I'm looking for another recipe; Everyone keeps changing this one and it's confusing me now trying to remember what I did. 2 things I do remember: They took a long time to dry (don't forget to flip them 1/2 way, whenever that is). & I unintentionally used just 1 layer of chocolate. I just started sampling & asking for advice (lol). My family & friends said they were great the way they were. ... I hate adding more & more shortening to my chocolate. yuck. (Next melting, I'll use milk to thin, like a review suggested.) My lesson: these are really good, I think they take unnecessary work, & one might save some trouble & dipping if your chocolate is really thick. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My husband loves these! I would definitely follow the advice to chill the patties for a bit before you dip them. The only other challenge for me was that the chocolate coating came out really thick. I guess that's not a real negative for most people :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I make these all through out the winter. Every one loves them. I love them frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I love thias recipe... Big hit with my family at the holidays. The one thing i changed is to let them dry on parchment paper rather wax paper. They do not stick to the parchment when you have to flip them and they dried better on there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These did not work out very well. Someone in the comments suggested using cream or milk to thin out the chocolate, it immediately seized up on me. They white part stuck to the wax paper and dried before I could get them all dipped. Dipping was very difficult. I am not much of a candy maker, so not sure if I'll attempt these again. I had made them for my husband who was overseas and I vacuum sealed them and they were hard as a rock when they got there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
A hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Easy and delicious. A tip for dipping: Use spoons. If you pass the patty between two spoons, you can easily coat each patty in chocolate without it falling apart. I used large dinner spoons - worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I read other reviews and froze it before drizzling chocolate. Although they didn't turn out as pretty, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States