Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Everyone LOVED them!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I must have made them thinner because I got twice as much out of the batter. I ended up using a lot more shortening to thin the chocolate to dipping consistency. I loved them and so did everyone I gave them to for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tasty, but a real pain to make. Too melty to include in treat bags as I intended. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The taste is amazing but I'm deducting some star points for the recipe technique. Oh my goodness did I ever have a time getting a single patty coated with chocolate without a complete breakdown/melting of the patty. Finally had success spooning chocolate on the patties, letting it set, and flipping to cover the other side. Also did a batch with cinnamon extract. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
So easy. And a huge Christmas hit every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These do taste just like a peppermint patty, but dipping them wasn't all that easy. The heat from the chocolate "melted" the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was a nightmare to make! I tried making it as the recipe stated and it was a huge chocolate mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
THEY TASTED ALRIGHT, AND I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY, BUT WHEN I TRIED TO DIP THE PATTIES IN THE CHOCOLATE, THE PATTIES STARTED TO FALL APART.,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipes is so easy and delicious. I did freeze the patties as some reviewers had mentioned, however I only did that for about an hour or so, and mostly to keep them from spreading more and sticking to the cookie sheet since the dough is not completely stiff. I also dusted my hands with confectioners sugar while flattening the patties to help from sticking to the sheet, also, even though the dough is not really sticky. After that hour in the freezer to keep shape, I took them out, flipped them, and continued to flip them occasionally for the next 24 hours. Perfect results. They dried out enough that when they are broken in half, they make that same sound as York. No issues with the chocolate melting the patty as some other reviewers had stated, either. I melted chocolate in the microwave on the defrost setting, added a bit of shortening and wax to make it smooth, give them a nice sheen, and make sure they don't melt on contact with fingers. Will make again, probably tonight, since there's no way these are going to last until Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Outstanding. I did not freeze the dough and wish I had....definitely would have been easier to dip in chocolate. We added an extra teaspoon of peppermint fir the second batch, and an extra tablespoon of the condensed milk. The result was a flavor and consistency more like the name brand peppermint patty. We figured these at a cookie exchange and the crowd loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States