Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was a nightmare to make! I tried making it as the recipe stated and it was a huge chocolate mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
THEY TASTED ALRIGHT, AND I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY, BUT WHEN I TRIED TO DIP THE PATTIES IN THE CHOCOLATE, THE PATTIES STARTED TO FALL APART.,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipes is so easy and delicious. I did freeze the patties as some reviewers had mentioned, however I only did that for about an hour or so, and mostly to keep them from spreading more and sticking to the cookie sheet since the dough is not completely stiff. I also dusted my hands with confectioners sugar while flattening the patties to help from sticking to the sheet, also, even though the dough is not really sticky. After that hour in the freezer to keep shape, I took them out, flipped them, and continued to flip them occasionally for the next 24 hours. Perfect results. They dried out enough that when they are broken in half, they make that same sound as York. No issues with the chocolate melting the patty as some other reviewers had stated, either. I melted chocolate in the microwave on the defrost setting, added a bit of shortening and wax to make it smooth, give them a nice sheen, and make sure they don't melt on contact with fingers. Will make again, probably tonight, since there's no way these are going to last until Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Outstanding. I did not freeze the dough and wish I had....definitely would have been easier to dip in chocolate. We added an extra teaspoon of peppermint fir the second batch, and an extra tablespoon of the condensed milk. The result was a flavor and consistency more like the name brand peppermint patty. We figured these at a cookie exchange and the crowd loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These were so easy to make:) I had to make my own condensed milk, and I used mint extract, it was what I thought was peppermint. I also used vanilla and chocolate bark to coat. On the white Patties, I sprinkled them with green sprinkles. So cute!! My kids love them!! Ps. Vanilla or chocolate bark is much easier to coat candies with than chocolate chips. Learned from experience:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Better than York! I also recommend freezing on a sheet pan and coating one side at a time in chocolate with pastry brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Wonderful recipe! We made these for the Holidays and they went quickly. Everyone raved about them and couldn't believe I'd made them myself! I added a bit extra peppermint extract and took the advice of others and froze the patties first before dipping. (Also, it really does help make the dipping easier if you make smaller patties.) I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHEEBEANS
Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've tried, and failed, at this recipe 3 times. Problem #1 - I tried freezing the patties as others suggested, but the condensation from the frozen patties made the chocolate seize up. Problem #2 - The chocolate was way too thick for dipping. Problem #3 - When I tried just letting them dry out, they fell apart when I dipped them in the chocolate. The chocolate got all lumpy and gross. I don't understand what I'm doing wrong! Help! I want to love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very sweet if make again make very small
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I read all of the reviews and I agree that brushing on the chocolate is much easier than attempting to dip them! They were awesome though and well worth the effort. Everyone raved about them and they have quickly become a Christmas tradition for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States