Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I love this recipe and can't wait for another opportunity to make it again! (I personally think that they taste better than the store bought kind!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Spectacular!! Beautiful and elegant, tasted just like the real thing, right down to the texture of the mint filling. The only difference is that you can pile on as much chocolate as you like. They take a while to cool and don't let the patties dry out too long or they'll get hard. I didn't have any semi-sweet chocolate, so instead, I melted a bag of bittersweet (60% cacao) and 2 oz. unsweetened bakers chocolate and 2 tbsp white sugar. It worked out well but next time I might try mixing in a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
These are delicious! First of all- when I make these again (and I say when, because I will!) I'm going to experiment with the s.c. milk to confectioner sugar ratio. Based on how mine turned out (I followed the recipe exactly) I think you could use considerably less s.c. milk, but it's just a theory. Also, rather than heating the chocolate in a pan I used a bain marie (double boiler) which made life so much easier- I didn't have to worry about the chocolate getting funky, burnt, or any of the other things that could happen- plus I was able to have nicely melted chocolate for the entire time it took me to coat the patties. I think tweaking the 'dough' will make a big difference in how these set up. As the recipe calls for, my patties were falling apart and melting before I could do anything. I had to keep them in the freezer at all times, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing- I think I may prefer them frozen. (Seriously, they are so good frozen!) I bought a little circle fondant cutter so they were the size of the mini York patties and rolled the dough out flat before cutting. The size was perfect because where my dough was a bit thick, the taste was off (too much creamy center for how much chocolate it took to coat them)- so don't make them too huge unless you can get them really flat for multiple bites. All in all- deeelish! It was very time consuming (for me) and messy but definitely worth the effort. Practice makes perfect so I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I could not believe how much these tasted like the real thing! I melted my chocolate in a fondue pot and this made for easy coating! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Your recipe is the greatest.... i have never tasted anything like this....It's better then the ones that you buy in the store...Thank you so much for sharing you recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
good my mom made this one year very very good can`t wait for this againe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very easy to make...looked super on my Christmas tray. I used an electric mixer to mix the ingredients and it worked wonderfully. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Very good!!! They were the talk at my husband's office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
The patties themselves (w/out chocolate) were excellent! May I suggest to make smaller, rather than larger patties. If they are large they won't dry enough on the outside and will break when you hold them for more than a few seconds. My reccomendation : Instead of dipping these (they melt in the pot), freeze them, and then brush the melted chocolate onto them with a basting or pastry brush. Then, flip and repeat when dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These turned out great. It was cold out when I made them, in the low 20's so I stuck them outside to dry and chill a little before dipping them. This worked oput great because it gave them some extra stiffness when dipping them in the chocolate. I had a hard time getting the chocolate chips to melt so I melted wafer chocolates in a double boiler instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States