Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I love this Recipe!! For added fun last Christmas I devided the recipe and used food coloring to make half of them red and half green, then only dipped them in the chocolate half way- festive and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahNicole131

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
They are great! This was my first experience dipping anything into chocolate and I think I should have made them thicker and smaller because they began to melt once I dipped them into the chocolate. So I ended up brushing on the chocolate and they came out good, not professional looking but who cares as long as they taste good and were presentable, but kids and hubby didn't care and loved them. I ended up freezing them once I put the chocolate coating on and are pulled out of the freezer as they are eaten. Still gave it five stars because they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epicurelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These are really good. And it makes alot.I used the whole can of milk, put a little more extract [1\2 tsp?] and about a cup or so more sugar. I was doing heaping TBSP's. after awhile to get the right texture. I made mine small, dime size, then flattened. I just let them air dry. By the time I was done making and flattening, and melting chocolate, I started at the beggining of my mints to start dunking, I just dropped one in [so the bottom had chocolate] picked up with a fork, used a spoon to pour choco. on top of mint, then tapped the side of my pan to tap off extra chocolate, dried on parchment paper. Excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
After a few snaffus, the end result was great. I read many of the reviews, so I knew to chill the mint before trying to dip it in the chocolate. But no ones mentioned in the previous reviews that the choc chips gave them any trouble. Mine came out TERRIBLE. The chips melted with the shortening resulted in a goopey, grainy mess. I threw the chocolate away, went back to the grocery store and bought the melting chocolate (almond bark chocolate) that I use to dip pretzels and such. I microwaved it and it worked fine. I won 2nd place at a cooking contest party! They really are delicious if you skip the chips and shortening and stick with good ole' melting chocolate. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali4474

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These are great. Only need 3.5 cups of the sugar. Makes so many! But I noticed that they get stale a little quicker than I liked (and I did wrap them in candy foils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Taste is good but I found the dipping didn't work at all. I had to freeze them for a half hour - an hour first and them they worked fine. This could be because my pepermint dough was on the soft side but I wouldn't change that because the softer dough made for goeier tastier patties. ( i didnt use anywhere close to the amount of sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ween's Cuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very easy to make and very tasty. I added the confectioner's sugar until I came to what I thought was the right consistency, which wasn't the same as the recipe (it was less.) Rolled the "dough" out and used heart-shaped cookie cutters, then froze them on a cookie sheet until I was ready to dip them in chocolate. I found dipping only half of the mint was good enough because the chocolate became overwhelming if I did the whole mint. These will become a staple in my holiday baking (actually, year round baking) because I now realize it's easier, cheaper and just plain yummier to make your own than to buy the commercial ones in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mc Coy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were easy and yummy! My centers dried just right. (Don't make them too thin or they'll fall apart when you pick them up off the waxed paper.) I had children helping me dip them, so they weren't pretty, but tasted good! Just don't leave the center in the chocolate pot for long--it melts quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Great recipe. I used dark chocolate with a touch of peppermint extract and used a bit of green food coloring. My friends raved about these patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States