Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Great recipe. I used dark chocolate with a touch of peppermint extract and used a bit of green food coloring. My friends raved about these patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These are wonderful! I made them fairly small hoping that people wouldn't eat as many of them but that didn't work. They were too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Wow these are really good! They taste better than the York Peppermint Patties. I did use a whole can of sweetened condensed milk. It was about 1 1/4 cups. I just adjusted the sugar. I didn't measure, just kept adding and mixing until it was not sticky. I added 1 TBS of peppermint extract. Others said it wasn't enough peppermint. Mine are perfect! I formed them into patties, let it sit overnight. Don't make the patties too big. Then I dipped half in chocolate and let it set chocolate side up. To speed up the process, I put the tray in the freezer, then dipped again. I used dark chocolate. MMMMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
They were good, but a total mess. After much trial and error, though, I did manage a few presentable ones for Christmas cookie plates to give away. Hope it goes smoother this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kathryn
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These seem to get easier every time I make them! I let mine dry for about 3 hours and that seemed to prevent them falling apart when dipping. I added a large chunk of Copha (shortening) instead of butter to get the chocolate thin enough. I have also made these with strawberry essence and coconut extract. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were so tasty! I made them just bigger than quarters - which means I had over 100 of them. The size worked well because they didn't fall apart in the chocolate since they fit on the fork. To anyone who hasn't ever dipped things in chocolate, might I suggest reading up on it first. I did not know that a single drop of water could ruin the melted choclate and worse, I added some butter to get the hardened chocolate back to a normal consistency. I had no clue why my patties weren't hardening after being dipped. They had to stay in the freezer until we ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Great! The boys in the family loved them, not diet food though! Very sweet, I made my own peppermint extract by boiling some minced peppermint and draining off liquid into my mix. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I thought this would come out more like fondant or marzipan. It definately took more than two hours to harden, try 24-36. I could have possibly added more powdered sugar or lessened the milk (?). I also felt the peppermint flavor was too strong. One dram, or maybe less, would have probably been sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Yummy. Definitely freeze the peppermint wafers first before dipping into chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Soooo good. I used 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 2 tsps. mint extract, with a dash of almond extract. Instead of patties, rolled into smaller than marble sized balls. Put on waxed paper, froze, then dipped one at a time in choc. Can also drizzle choc. on balls, but the dipped do look alot nicer, if giving away. Good project to do in front of t.v. when you're not in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States