Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
great recipe! I had a hard time dipping them in chocolate so instead used a pastry brush and brushed it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not sure if this has already been mentioned ... but I use the peppermint patty part of this recipe to fill chocolates. I use melting wafers to coat a mold. That goes in the freezer and then it is very easy to squish a pat of the peppermint patty in the mold and top with more melted chocolate. I think that dark melting wafers (I buy bulk at the grocery store)would work really well if you wanted to make dip the patties like the recipe suggests. Melting wafers are fairly fool-proof :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
thought these turned out great used chocolate almond bark. had no problems dipping the in the chocolate and I didnt freeze it before I dipped them. Used tongs instead of a fork thought it was easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
So easy to make and taste just like the ones bought in the store. Had to refrigerate them to get them to completely harden after dipping in chocolate. Ended up being a huge hit for Christmas last year and they are on my list to make this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I use to make these for family around christmas time but lost my recipe. This was just like mine and was easy to make. i always colored my filling green and instead of dipping the mints into chocolate would drizzle chocolate over them. That was just easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
We loved these! I made them exactly as the recipe and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I'm not a huge PP fan, but my wife is so i figured i would make these for her for a surprise. Well lets say I love peppermint patties now!! Everyone loved them, i almost had to beat the kids off with a wooden spoon to keep them from swipping all the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by will

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Try the suggestion of using damp hands to roll the balls but, not too damp. Big help! Also, instead of air dry the flaten discs were placed in the freezer about 20 minutes. I only took a few out at a time to dip in chocolate. As another person suggested let the chocolate cool a few minutes before dipping. This worked perfectly. You can use a tad bit more of shorting to loosen the mix if necessary. Hershey Special Dark Chips were used. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I love this Recipe!! For added fun last Christmas I devided the recipe and used food coloring to make half of them red and half green, then only dipped them in the chocolate half way- festive and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahNicole131

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
They are great! This was my first experience dipping anything into chocolate and I think I should have made them thicker and smaller because they began to melt once I dipped them into the chocolate. So I ended up brushing on the chocolate and they came out good, not professional looking but who cares as long as they taste good and were presentable, but kids and hubby didn't care and loved them. I ended up freezing them once I put the chocolate coating on and are pulled out of the freezer as they are eaten. Still gave it five stars because they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epicurelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States