Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made these a few days go, but had a problem with it being too dry. I couldn't get it to form into a ball mixture. I scrapped the 1st batch and started over. I used about a cup less confectioner's sugar and that resulted in a better ball form. In the process of drying, it took more then 2 hours to dry. So I let them set over night. I went to dip into chocolate and they started to melt. Hence a 3rd batch. I tasted the mint mixture and the flavor was spot on. Love mint! However, My kids had other ideas in mind when I made them the 3rd time. I had them drying and proceeded to dip them yet again. To find my youngest had a tummy ache from eating the entire batch without them being dipped. So I never got a chance to dip them. SO a 4th time I made these, I'm now an expert, I warded off the kids from touching them until I was completely done. Now I finally got a great batch but still had to do with less powdered sugar then the recipe calls for around 4 1/2 to 5 cups of confectioner's sugar. All in all the result was very good. However a note for others. Have plastic wrap handy to cover the mixture as you are pinching off the dough to keep moist while you are working with it. It does start to dry out fast. Thanks I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Just tried this as a last minute gift for my child's teacher! It turned out AWESOME!!!! I am gonna make some for my family next!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband loves peppermint patties so I made them for my Christmas baking and he loves them, my father in law ate 6 of them!! I used dark chocolate and a TBS of criso because it gives the chocolate a nice shine. This will be a Christmas tradition for years to come in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandasimmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this recipe! I've made these for the last 2 years and given them (along with my home made peanut butter cups) to my daughters' teachers. I follow the recipe as written but instead of rolling it out, I roll the dough into little balls and flatten them a bit I put a small amount of chocolate in the bottom of a MINI cupcake liner place the dough on top and cover with a little more chocolate. YUMMY and so pretty with Christmas themed paper liners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe for the first time. It was great!! I rolled the dough into 1/2 inch balls and dipped them into dark chocolate. I call them peppermint bites. I sell them and people love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These turned out good, but not the best! I will try making them again to "perfect" on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made them for a Christmas party, everyone thought Ibought them. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAR003

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These are amazing! My family loved them! A new family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent patties. Rich and smooth tasting. Super simple to make and a wonderful gift. I used a can of store brand sweetened condensed milk and ended up needing a can and a half but still delicious and made a nice soft bowl of candy dough to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good & surprisingly simple to make. They look beautiful. Could use a smidge more peppermint, but that could have been my son who helped put in more of a scant tablespoon. I'd like to try with dark chocolate next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEENYBO

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States