Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
very good recipe...i. will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is a really tasty recipe. I found that I had the opposite problem from a lot of the other reviewers here: the filling was too wet. I couldn't form it into balls. I threw caution to the wind and just added more icing sugar until it looked promising (and extra cup or two, plus another cup for kneading the filling) and went on from there. The filling still didn't want to stay together to be dipped into the chocolate, so I just poured chocolate over the top and froze the patties. For all the finickiness, they turned out great! Really delicious, and worth the little headaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I just made a half batch of these, testing recipes for the one closest to York Peppermint Patties, which is my favorite candy. I needen't look any farther. I just blew up my stand mixer making dog biscuits, so I was hesitant to make a full batch with my little hand mixer, thinking the filling might be too stiff for it to handle. It was perfect. I make my own extracts and these are DELICIOUS using peppermint from my garden. I'm going to make a btch of peppermint easter eggs to send to my son, who is also a YPP maven. Can't wait to get his response. I hand dipped the patties and got the semisweet chocolate coating a little too thick on some of them. Next time I'm going to combine 2/3 semisweet with 1/3 milk chocolate to cut the flavor a bit. I will say, these are GREAT and as easy as can be. I had them mixed, kneaded, pinched onto cookie sheets and pressed in less than 30 minutes. Go for it...they're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I had a hard time dipping these, next time I will try and freeze them. They tasted great! Good recipe to make and freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent!! I used a mix of dark & milk chocolate chips w/ a little shortening instead because I'm not a fan of chocolate candy coating. I also added more peppermint - I like them strong! I experimented which turned out awesome: after I made the batch, I halved it. In one of the halves, I added a 1/4 cup dark chocolate baking cocoa, a tsp. more peppermint, and a splash of milk to get the right consistency. These double-chocolate patties turned out fantastic!! I was pretty unsuccessful at the dipping so I ended up just slavering each side with the melted chocolate. I used my finger to make swirl patterns. Turned out quite pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmiller2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not my favorite kind. To dry and not very tasty. I think I will stick to the recipe with the cream cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I have made the patties twice so far, and they have been great both times (especially frozen!) Following another review's suggestion, I used roughly half a cup less powdered sugar and they were the right balance between moist and dry/set. I also changed the milk chocolate to a semisweet and bittersweet chocolate blend. My fellow nurses on the night shift agreed that they were very refreshing at 3am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
All I have to say is amazing. First of all I did not use a tablespoon of peppermint extract. I used like 1 and a half because the mint that I had was too strong. I needed sugar into the dough until it was the right consistancy and then let them dry for a day. I dipped them in dark chocolate and they taste exactly like York's! We are fighting over them seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Easy & great tasting! Keep well in the freezer, so one batch could last for several occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were Awesome!!! They were much better and the center was smoother than the ones you buy at the store. And they were super easy to make! I followed the directions exactly and I even let them dry out longer than the recipe called for and I did not have a problem with them being too dry. I did follow the advice to freeze them for about 15 mins before dipping in the chocolate and I used Ghirardelli's 60% Cacao choc chips. My only advice is to keep them small.. They are easier to dip and take out of the dip when they are smaller. I used a small melon ball scoop and broke that ball in half and rolled that into a ball and flattened. It was the perfect size. Next time I'm going to try making them w/ regular choc chips and white choc chips and I'll even try different extracts for the cream center. I'm going to have fun w/ these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States