Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! Junior Mints are one of my favorites which have a milder peppermint flavor than Yorks so I only added 1 tsp. peppermint extract which was perfect! They tasted just like Junior Mints. I only added 4 1/2 cups powdered sugar so it wasn't dry like others complained about. To make it much easier, I made these in a 9x13 inch pan which I first greased, melted chocolate chips in the microwave and put a layer (whatever thickness you want) of chocolate down. I put it in the freezer for about 5 min to harden the chocolate and then put the peppermint filling on that. I then put a layer of melted chocolate on top of that. After the chocolate hardens, cut into squares. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
very good recipe...i. will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is a really tasty recipe. I found that I had the opposite problem from a lot of the other reviewers here: the filling was too wet. I couldn't form it into balls. I threw caution to the wind and just added more icing sugar until it looked promising (and extra cup or two, plus another cup for kneading the filling) and went on from there. The filling still didn't want to stay together to be dipped into the chocolate, so I just poured chocolate over the top and froze the patties. For all the finickiness, they turned out great! Really delicious, and worth the little headaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I just made a half batch of these, testing recipes for the one closest to York Peppermint Patties, which is my favorite candy. I needen't look any farther. I just blew up my stand mixer making dog biscuits, so I was hesitant to make a full batch with my little hand mixer, thinking the filling might be too stiff for it to handle. It was perfect. I make my own extracts and these are DELICIOUS using peppermint from my garden. I'm going to make a btch of peppermint easter eggs to send to my son, who is also a YPP maven. Can't wait to get his response. I hand dipped the patties and got the semisweet chocolate coating a little too thick on some of them. Next time I'm going to combine 2/3 semisweet with 1/3 milk chocolate to cut the flavor a bit. I will say, these are GREAT and as easy as can be. I had them mixed, kneaded, pinched onto cookie sheets and pressed in less than 30 minutes. Go for it...they're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I had a hard time dipping these, next time I will try and freeze them. They tasted great! Good recipe to make and freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent!! I used a mix of dark & milk chocolate chips w/ a little shortening instead because I'm not a fan of chocolate candy coating. I also added more peppermint - I like them strong! I experimented which turned out awesome: after I made the batch, I halved it. In one of the halves, I added a 1/4 cup dark chocolate baking cocoa, a tsp. more peppermint, and a splash of milk to get the right consistency. These double-chocolate patties turned out fantastic!! I was pretty unsuccessful at the dipping so I ended up just slavering each side with the melted chocolate. I used my finger to make swirl patterns. Turned out quite pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmiller2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not my favorite kind. To dry and not very tasty. I think I will stick to the recipe with the cream cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I have made the patties twice so far, and they have been great both times (especially frozen!) Following another review's suggestion, I used roughly half a cup less powdered sugar and they were the right balance between moist and dry/set. I also changed the milk chocolate to a semisweet and bittersweet chocolate blend. My fellow nurses on the night shift agreed that they were very refreshing at 3am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
All I have to say is amazing. First of all I did not use a tablespoon of peppermint extract. I used like 1 and a half because the mint that I had was too strong. I needed sugar into the dough until it was the right consistancy and then let them dry for a day. I dipped them in dark chocolate and they taste exactly like York's! We are fighting over them seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Easy & great tasting! Keep well in the freezer, so one batch could last for several occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States