Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a really good recipe to add to my holiday collection! Although I did make some changes (I like to personalize recipes). 1. Eggs room temperature (Try putting them in a bowl of warm water. Someone else suggested this and it was a very smart way to speed up the process) 2. I use parchment paper on a light cookie sheet. 3. After whipping in a machine I folded in a bit of extract. I used 1/4 teaspoon almond this time, but vanilla and peppermint would be just as good. 4. I didn't use the crushed peppermint, however I believe that folding them in with the meringue is a good idea. 5. I used the old sandwhich bag as a piping bag trick to create perfectly sized treats. 6. Because mine were rather small I only baked roughly an hour. 7. I then turned off the over and left them in for half an hour. Then I went and cracked the oven open for another half an hour and Viola! Beautiful Meringues!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is SUCH a great base recipe I gave it 5 stars.... I haven't used actual crushed peppermint (too scared it will fall), so I use peppermint extract instead. I've used other extracts with fantastic results as well... it just depends what I have on hand (vanilla, almond, etc.) and even added finely shaved chocolate once. Yum! These make wonderful and easy sweet treats for holidays and special occassions... just make sure you wait for a low-humidity day and store them in airtight containers or they will get chewy very fast. I usually fill a storage baggie with the mixture (carefully), and then I cut off a corner so I can squeeze out pretty little dollops about 2 inches in diameter. Works great! One other note: the cream of tartar isn't necessary in my experience... works just as well without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Made these for Christmas, they were great. Make sure you whip the meringue enough or the cookies don't hold their shape well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Perfect and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These are so light and so delicious! I love them! It took me a few attempts to get the sizing right, but even my "bad batches" were so tasty! Definitely a hit around the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Really easy and tasty too! Went down a treat at work! I didn't have cream of tartar so substituted equal amount of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbluett@yahoo.co.uk
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Turned out great. Placed a toasted blanched almond at the bottom and skipped the peppermint part. Also made them a little bigger so had to cook for about 20 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Loved making these for Christmas, they came out so cute, little Disneyland Matterhorns. I recently made them again a couple of days ago with orange zest instead of the crushed candy canes. Completely changed it and some have said it was better than the peppermint ones since they weren't big fans of the mint. I will always be making this but substituting the candy canes with zests and other things to get different results. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was very surprised at the amount of peppermint flavor without having to add any kind of extract. I think I baked mine a little bit too long as they got a bit brown, but the inside didn't burn, so they still tasted fantastic. Might just become a Christmas staple. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States