Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My first time making meringues and they turned out well...though 1.5 hours at 225 degrees was a tad too long. Also, I was able to make only about 30 meringues from this recipe. This may be my lack of experience with dolloping them out. But they were tasty! I will try this again with just vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great recipe! I followed the original recipe and these came out great. Even my picky boyfriend loved them. I think I prefer them a little less sweet so I would use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These are fantastic! My kids loved them and I took them to grandmas house where they were devoured too! Very easy and easy. Make sure all of your bowls and whips are clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was my first attempt at meringues (well second since I screwed up the first batch!), and it turned out pretty well. I did add the peppermint extract as other people suggested (only 1/2 tsp) and you definitely have to fold it in after everything else is done or you will screw it up like I did the first time. They were really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very happy with this recipe. For anyone having issues getting their eggs white to peak- the key is to separate the yolk and the whites while they are still cold (right out the fridge). Then you can wait for the eggs whites to come to room temperature. If you try to separate the eggs if they've been on the counter awhile, there's a good chance the yolk will mix in. You may not notice even notice it, but even the tiniest amount of yolk will prevent the whites from forming peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very Good, but difficult to maintain temperature, which is key, in my Mexican oven. Browned slightly which gave them a different flavor. Very sweet, but don't know if reducing sugar is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is delicious, perfect meringue. I ended up making this recipe because I ended up with 8 egg whites from a soup I was making and thought it was wasteful to throw out the eggs. The slow cook on these is perfect in the oven. I ended up adding a splash of peppermint extract since I didn't have candy canes on hand (all in all maybe 1/4 tsp of peppermint). This resulted in a definite peppermint flavor that wasn't overwhelming -- more like a butter mint. I ended up with 50 or so meringues -- but I was making them rather large (1.5" to 2") and they cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It started out easy but once all the ingredients were added in the bowl only like 1/4 of a inch the bottom of the bowl was full and they didn't even make peaks they were flat disks on a dry day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofseven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this with the peppermint extract substitution as suggested by another reviewer. They were amazing!!!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing xoxoxoxoxoxo -------------------------------------------------------------- ETA: I make these as a Gluten-Free treat for my mom. I finely chopped up by hand a handful of Gluten-Free chocolate chips and added them in towards the end of the mixing. Thin and flaky pieces worked fine and didn't effect anything but the taste! They were the perfect Mint Chocolate Chip version :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
AWESOME!!!! And so easy! These little dandies were such a hit with my family last Christmas that I have a feeling they will be requested for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yuvanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States