Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My first time making meringue, and it was so easy! I added 1/4 tsp peppermint extract after the soft peak stage, and added a teaspoon more sugar to compensate. My peaks never fell, but I don't live in a humid climate (yay- one perk...). The peppermint flavour within the meringue is light and complements the crushed candy canes well. I baked at 225F for 1.5 hours as on the recipe, and only had to cool for an hour before it was dry on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wow! Amazing texture, fantastic taste! I folded in 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, and sprinkled on crushed candy canes. It was a nice minty taste - just right, and not too overpowering=) First, but not my last time. =)Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Good, but way too much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Who knew this was so easy! They look amazing too. I do reccomend piping it out of a ziploc or pastry bag as they look like white snowman poop when you just spoon them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made these for Christmas last year, was very pleased with them, my family and guests enjoyed them and they looked both dainty and festive on the plate. Have just finished making them again this Christmas and as well as serving them at home are taking them to a large Christmas luncheon tomorrow, am serving them on a plate along with White Chocolate dipped Strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are so easy and taste great! I was afraid of the meringue~ but it couldn't have been easier! We tried them because our DD was just diagnosed as Diabetic Type 1. This is her first Christmas with new eating habits and we wanted her to have low carb. treats. We have made them a few times now. Chocolate with Chocolate powder on top is yummy. Almond extract is good too. We are trying lemon extract today. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was my first attempt at meringues and I have to say they came out amazing. I stopped reading the reviews because I wanted to form my own opinion. I doubled the recipe because I was making a bunch as gifts so I wanted to have plenty. Yes, you have to beat the mix for a looonnnggg time to get the stiff white peaks but it's worth it when your meringues come out the perfect shape! I got so many compliments on these from my co-workers and friends that I am about to make another batch to bring home to my family for the holidays. They are a delicious, light treat and I find the mint stops you from eating a ton of them, like I always want to do with chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Iacovelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I added a few drops of peppermint extract when beating the egg whites. We piped them out with a decorating tip. We crushed some peppermints in a bag and then ran them through the food processor for almost powdery bits. I tried the first one too soon (maybe 30 minutes after turning off the oven) -- it wasn't completely dry inside. So I closed the oven and let them sit a few hours. When I came back and tried again, they were perfect! It was my daughter's first time trying meringues. At first she was like, "Meh." But she tried again after dinner and decided she loved them! These are easy, have a great texture, and are pretty. They feel like a special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Easiest time I have ever had working with Meringue. Put it into a plastic baggie, cut out a corner, and piped it onto parchment paper. (Definitely keep them small so they are single bite sized.) The crushed peppermint on top gave it wonderful flavor. Had many positive comments as I watched them dissappear from the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States