Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Turned out perfectly! I did add a little bit of mint extract (like 1/8 teasp.) I don't understand how anyone wouldn't like them if you like mint! Different strokes for different folks I guess! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Mmmmmm! I used artificial sugar since 2/3 of my family are diabetic and they loved it. I made them really small, bite size for a kid, to put on top of a pudding I made. (Chocolate Cream Pudding by Mimi on this site) They are way lighter and more delicate than I thought they would be but I can see why you use a metal spatula to remove them. Even the dogs like them!! I'll add a photo later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
These are THE MOST DELICIOUS MERINGUE COOKIES EVER!!! When I first made them on heist as Eve I didn't use parchment paper or non-stick spray (they stuck to the pan) but the cookies that I got off tasted delicious. The 2nd time around I used butter and it was perfect. I didn't use the peppermint. One of the most delicious cookies I've ever had. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Used the smaller cookie scoop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My first time to make meringues. They were melt in your mouth good. The only thing I changed was to mix in the crushed candy instead of putting it on top. Thanks for sharing your recipe Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've been making these for years. This baking method produced cookies that were nice and crispy - no chewy middle. Our variation: I added the Andes Mints chunks and they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was great! I didn't use peppermint, but did everything else as follows EXCEPT that I left them in the oven for two hours. I turned the oven off after 2 hours and left them in until cooled. I also added some fun by making little piles of mini chocolate chips and piping the meringue over the chocolate, so the meringues came out "chocolate filled" and cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes--pretty, no fail, and very easy if you follow a few tips: Bring the egg whites to room temp before starting. Make sure to use a metal or glass bowl. If adding peppermint extract, I use 1/4 tsp. and fold in gently after the stiff peaks form. I pipe the meringues onto two parchment-covered baking sheets using a 1M star cake decorating tip. It helps to have someone hold open the decorating bag while you fill it with meringue, which is very sticky. Put the sheets on two oven racks, and switch them after 45 mins. These store well, but do not store in a container with other cookies, or the meringues will absorb the moisture and become soft. If serving with other cookies, place them out just before serving so they remain dry. I made the mistake of putting them with other cookies on a gift cookie platter, and they became soft quickly. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are so good. I used choc peppermint candy canes on the second batch and the flavor was great. Meringue has a different texture when it is in your mouth and so one daughter that has texture issues found it weird. But everyone else really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
O. M. G. Yay!!!! What a great recipe!!! I don't think I have ever tried a meringue, and man was I missing out!! I didn't have candy canes on hand, so I added 1/2 tsp peppermint extract, with some red food colour gel, once the eggs had beaten to soft peaks. I piped them as 1/2" rosettes, and they turned out amazing. This recipe is super easy, takes very little time to get in the oven, and they are such a wonderful treat to add to the party tables and gift bags!! A year round regular for me for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States