Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I've never made meringues before and had no clue what I was doing. I doubled the recipe since I didn't have a measuring spoon for 1/8 tsp!! I spooned the meringue mixture onto parchment paper (the ziploc bag trick never works for me) and put the candy canes crushed with a rolling pin on top. As directed, baked for 1 1/2 hours and then shut the oven off and left the meringues in there. Came out as expected... good peppermint flavor. There's not much to meringues, but you know that when you make them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
These were so easy and pretty. I piped mine with a pastry bag then sprinkled crushed candy canes on them. I did add the teeniest amount of extract to the first batch and I wish I hadn't. It gave them a weird aftertaste. The others were fine and melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This recipie isawsome, i am going to go make some more!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very easy to make. The grandkids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
We'd never made meringue cookies before but decided to try these. My husband (with minimal baking experience) found them very easy and the results were delicious! Next time we'll make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Browning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Turned out beautifully. If you're not having success with this recipe, beating the eggs thoroughly with a mixer so you cannot see any foam bubbles before you add the sugar is a must. Other wise your meringue will not hold it's form well, and may brown when cooking. Don't skip out the tartaric acid and salt, it stabilises the egg whites and helps it to keep it's shape. If you don't have tartaric acid, substitute an equal amount of lemon juice or white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Super easy and wonderful ! If you had problems check a couple of things. Before separating your eggs soak the whole egg in warm water so when you crack them the white will be at room temperature allowing it to whip up easily. When you add your sugar do it at soft peak and when you are at stiff peak rub a bit on your fingers . If you can still feel the sugar continue beating until there is no more sugar feel. My oven runs hot so I bake at 200 degrees for 2 hours. Happy Baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Tried this recipe based on reviews. I followed direction exactly and got far fewer cookies even though I made them small. Also the bake time of 90minutes is too much or recommend temperature to high. My oven seems true with other recipies. I was going to try another batch but my husband tasted them and said not to bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Using white vinegar instead of cream of tartar worked great. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
It was tasty, fun and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States