Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cmason87
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My grandma's Golden Cookie recipe is a sugar cookie recipe that only uses the egg yolks. As I made a full batch, I had 5 egg whites (would have been six but one ended up on the counter...). So I adjusted this recipe for 5 whites but despaired a little when I saw another reviewer said it hadn't 'fluffed' when she had doubled it. But I kept at it with my hand mixer's whisk attachment, it probably took at least 20 minutes. I also added cinnamon extract as my husband does not like peppermint. I cook with gas, so I don't know if that made a difference, or if my little ziploc bag piped out meringues were too small (they're pretty small), but they did brown. Now that I've done it once, I won't be so afraid to try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Amazing recipe. They cooked perfectly and taste really good. I added a little more than a tablespoon of vanilla to the egg whites before whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by z&burnttoast
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I had no cream of tartar so instead I used 1/4 teaspoon of lime juice. Whipped up perfectly in 5-10 minutes. I was worried at first because it was only bubbly, but a bit of patience got it to a very silky and fluffy consistency. I also added less than 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Following the tips in another meringue recipe, I piped them from a cut ziploc bag, on a greased and lightly floured foil sheet lining a baking tray. The meringues came off easily and were very tasty! What I like about this food is how easy they are to tweak- I topped mine with crushed oreos, hot cocoa powder, cinnamon, and shredded coconut (separately of course) instead of peppermints. Trying other candies, colors, and extracts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I make these every holiday season. They are perfect and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Turned out perfectly! I did add a little bit of mint extract (like 1/8 teasp.) I don't understand how anyone wouldn't like them if you like mint! Different strokes for different folks I guess! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Mmmmmm! I used artificial sugar since 2/3 of my family are diabetic and they loved it. I made them really small, bite size for a kid, to put on top of a pudding I made. (Chocolate Cream Pudding by Mimi on this site) They are way lighter and more delicate than I thought they would be but I can see why you use a metal spatula to remove them. Even the dogs like them!! I'll add a photo later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
These are THE MOST DELICIOUS MERINGUE COOKIES EVER!!! When I first made them on heist as Eve I didn't use parchment paper or non-stick spray (they stuck to the pan) but the cookies that I got off tasted delicious. The 2nd time around I used butter and it was perfect. I didn't use the peppermint. One of the most delicious cookies I've ever had. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Used the smaller cookie scoop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My first time to make meringues. They were melt in your mouth good. The only thing I changed was to mix in the crushed candy instead of putting it on top. Thanks for sharing your recipe Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've been making these for years. This baking method produced cookies that were nice and crispy - no chewy middle. Our variation: I added the Andes Mints chunks and they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States