Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cmason87
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My grandma's Golden Cookie recipe is a sugar cookie recipe that only uses the egg yolks. As I made a full batch, I had 5 egg whites (would have been six but one ended up on the counter...). So I adjusted this recipe for 5 whites but despaired a little when I saw another reviewer said it hadn't 'fluffed' when she had doubled it. But I kept at it with my hand mixer's whisk attachment, it probably took at least 20 minutes. I also added cinnamon extract as my husband does not like peppermint. I cook with gas, so I don't know if that made a difference, or if my little ziploc bag piped out meringues were too small (they're pretty small), but they did brown. Now that I've done it once, I won't be so afraid to try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Amazing recipe. They cooked perfectly and taste really good. I added a little more than a tablespoon of vanilla to the egg whites before whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by z&burnttoast
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I had no cream of tartar so instead I used 1/4 teaspoon of lime juice. Whipped up perfectly in 5-10 minutes. I was worried at first because it was only bubbly, but a bit of patience got it to a very silky and fluffy consistency. I also added less than 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Following the tips in another meringue recipe, I piped them from a cut ziploc bag, on a greased and lightly floured foil sheet lining a baking tray. The meringues came off easily and were very tasty! What I like about this food is how easy they are to tweak- I topped mine with crushed oreos, hot cocoa powder, cinnamon, and shredded coconut (separately of course) instead of peppermints. Trying other candies, colors, and extracts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I make these every holiday season. They are perfect and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Turned out perfectly! I did add a little bit of mint extract (like 1/8 teasp.) I don't understand how anyone wouldn't like them if you like mint! Different strokes for different folks I guess! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Mmmmmm! I used artificial sugar since 2/3 of my family are diabetic and they loved it. I made them really small, bite size for a kid, to put on top of a pudding I made. (Chocolate Cream Pudding by Mimi on this site) They are way lighter and more delicate than I thought they would be but I can see why you use a metal spatula to remove them. Even the dogs like them!! I'll add a photo later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
These are THE MOST DELICIOUS MERINGUE COOKIES EVER!!! When I first made them on heist as Eve I didn't use parchment paper or non-stick spray (they stuck to the pan) but the cookies that I got off tasted delicious. The 2nd time around I used butter and it was perfect. I didn't use the peppermint. One of the most delicious cookies I've ever had. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Used the smaller cookie scoop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My first time to make meringues. They were melt in your mouth good. The only thing I changed was to mix in the crushed candy instead of putting it on top. Thanks for sharing your recipe Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've been making these for years. This baking method produced cookies that were nice and crispy - no chewy middle. Our variation: I added the Andes Mints chunks and they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States