Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These are fantastic! Got rave reviews fromthe entire family and easy enough for my 5 yr old daughter to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The easiest recipe ever! These turn out to be delightful treats that are wonderful Christmas gifts and perfect to dip in chocolate fondue for New Years! I will definetly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Smiling Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter, and they came out hard (I even had help with the meringue part, since I had never done it before). Didn't taste nearly as good as I had imagined. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
The only hard part about this is the cooking time. Very easy and light. I did add peppermint extract to the egg whites after they were whipped. I cannot imagine NOT adding this extra step. Also, remember not to put these on the same plate as other goodies. They will absorb all the moisture from the other goodies and become gummy (which is not good). These need to be by themselves. Awesome recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENROBBINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was the first time I had made meringues so I will still give this recipe 5 stars. I couldn't get to the firm peak stage. But I didn't let my eggs sit at room temp, which I forgot to do. However, even though my meringues weren't as fluffy, these were still very tasty. I added a little green food coloring. They had plenty of peppermint flavor with just the peppermint sprinkled on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Ok to be honest I am only lucky with about 1/4 of the meringues I try to make just have a heck of a time getting my whitse to stiffen but I managed to get them to stiffen for this recipe and I am glad I did. I followed others suggestion and added 1/4 tsp peppermint abstract and these turned out light and melted in your mouth. Would love to make again but I'll have to just stick with other desserts to preserve my sanity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were pretty good, but not what I had expected. I followed the recipe, but they just didn't taste the way I thought they would. They were pretty, but seemed to lack something. I may try them again, and do as some of the reviews suggested by adding flavor to the meringue rather than relying on the candy cane. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Aire, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Could not stop eating these delicious cookies! Love how they were so easy to make. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I left them in the mixer for almost 5 minutes until it was extra stiff. Then placed in a ziploc bag, cut a hole, and dropped onto cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Someone asked if it is possible to make these with Splenda. I have good results by adding 2 tsp dry egg white powder to partially make up for the body that sugar adds to the meringue. At first the egg white powder looks as if it will not work but gradually it will blend into the liquid egg whites. Reduce the speed of the mixer when adding the Splenda or it will fly everywhere! The yield will be less than when made with sugar but the cookies are excellent if one is on a low carb diet. These also are good variations adding other ingredients such as chocolate chips and/or chopped nuts. Finely chopped dried cranberries are also good. Use your imagination to make different flavors of cookies. If not adding peppermint I like to add 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. For a more rustic appearance drop batter onto foil or parchment paper using two spoons. For the reviewer who said that meringue did not form probably the bowl or beaters had grease on them. When beating egg whites make sure that the bowl and beaters are grease- free. Do not use a plastic bowl for beating egg whites as they usually have a film of grease no matter how thoroughly they are washed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I lost my original recipe and am happy to have found this one. My recipe called for peppermint pieces to be added to the meringue. I like the idea of add choco chips because I use those for raspberry meringue kisses. LOVE everyone's ideas to alter the recipe just a smidge! Let me add this - it is such an easy recipe - as one stated, the secret is to keep whipping until very stiff peaks form (just like whipping cream) and that sugar is dissolved, and add ingredients after whipping. Chilled bowl and beaters also may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States