Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I added a few drops of peppermint extract when beating the egg whites. We piped them out with a decorating tip. We crushed some peppermints in a bag and then ran them through the food processor for almost powdery bits. I tried the first one too soon (maybe 30 minutes after turning off the oven) -- it wasn't completely dry inside. So I closed the oven and let them sit a few hours. When I came back and tried again, they were perfect! It was my daughter's first time trying meringues. At first she was like, "Meh." But she tried again after dinner and decided she loved them! These are easy, have a great texture, and are pretty. They feel like a special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Easiest time I have ever had working with Meringue. Put it into a plastic baggie, cut out a corner, and piped it onto parchment paper. (Definitely keep them small so they are single bite sized.) The crushed peppermint on top gave it wonderful flavor. Had many positive comments as I watched them dissappear from the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Awesome! Very easy and delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My goodness, these are wonderful! Thank you for sharing this recipe, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rbssns
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I love this recipe it worked great it three times and put them in gift boxes for my family members. I substituted sugar for Splenda for my diabetic uncle and candy canes with Betty Crockers Decorating Decors Peppermint Sugar. They came out great I will be making them ever year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rbssns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My first time making meringues and they turned out well...though 1.5 hours at 225 degrees was a tad too long. Also, I was able to make only about 30 meringues from this recipe. This may be my lack of experience with dolloping them out. But they were tasty! I will try this again with just vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great recipe! I followed the original recipe and these came out great. Even my picky boyfriend loved them. I think I prefer them a little less sweet so I would use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These are fantastic! My kids loved them and I took them to grandmas house where they were devoured too! Very easy and easy. Make sure all of your bowls and whips are clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was my first attempt at meringues (well second since I screwed up the first batch!), and it turned out pretty well. I did add the peppermint extract as other people suggested (only 1/2 tsp) and you definitely have to fold it in after everything else is done or you will screw it up like I did the first time. They were really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very happy with this recipe. For anyone having issues getting their eggs white to peak- the key is to separate the yolk and the whites while they are still cold (right out the fridge). Then you can wait for the eggs whites to come to room temperature. If you try to separate the eggs if they've been on the counter awhile, there's a good chance the yolk will mix in. You may not notice even notice it, but even the tiniest amount of yolk will prevent the whites from forming peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States