Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Wonderful wonderful wonderful! I used the food processer to crush red and white peppermint candies to an almost-powder like consistency. They were PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delicious! I made this exactly as written and it was fantastic. The 2nd batch I added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract and it was even better! I tried them with a light drizzle of chocolate on top and I didn't care for it as much (though I love the combo of choc/mint). If you enjoy traditional meringues, this is a great twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Giving this 4 stars instead of 5 as making the meringue was SO easy and fast!! Loved that these were in the oven so quickly without a whole lot of clean-up needed!! I teach cake decorating, so of course, I piped the meringue into beautiful swirls before sprinkling them with the crushed peppermint candy. Unfortunately, a few hours after taking them out of the oven, they became VERY sticky and chewy when they'd initially been just perfect ~ light, crunchy and great flavor! I thought perhaps I'd done something wrong so quickly whipped up another batch......same issue. A few hours out of the oven and they were just as the first batch. I tried putting one of the batches back in the oven with the door ajar and that worked great! Then again, a few hours later, they were sticky & chewy. Now, a few days later, they are not sticky anymore but still a bit chewy melting very quickly instead of sticking to our teeth like glue. I want to try this recipe again because it was so much fun and so very very easy~ and who doesn't have 2 egg whites in the house when you suddenly need cookies for something or a quick home-made gift or dessert to take along somewhere? If anyone else had the experience of them turning sticky & chewy please let me know how you resolved it ~ I'd greatly appreciate hearing that ~ my resolution was to just eat them anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My first time making meringue, and it was so easy! I added 1/4 tsp peppermint extract after the soft peak stage, and added a teaspoon more sugar to compensate. My peaks never fell, but I don't live in a humid climate (yay- one perk...). The peppermint flavour within the meringue is light and complements the crushed candy canes well. I baked at 225F for 1.5 hours as on the recipe, and only had to cool for an hour before it was dry on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wow! Amazing texture, fantastic taste! I folded in 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, and sprinkled on crushed candy canes. It was a nice minty taste - just right, and not too overpowering=) First, but not my last time. =)Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Good, but way too much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Who knew this was so easy! They look amazing too. I do reccomend piping it out of a ziploc or pastry bag as they look like white snowman poop when you just spoon them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made these for Christmas last year, was very pleased with them, my family and guests enjoyed them and they looked both dainty and festive on the plate. Have just finished making them again this Christmas and as well as serving them at home are taking them to a large Christmas luncheon tomorrow, am serving them on a plate along with White Chocolate dipped Strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are so easy and taste great! I was afraid of the meringue~ but it couldn't have been easier! We tried them because our DD was just diagnosed as Diabetic Type 1. This is her first Christmas with new eating habits and we wanted her to have low carb. treats. We have made them a few times now. Chocolate with Chocolate powder on top is yummy. Almond extract is good too. We are trying lemon extract today. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States