Peppermint Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Awesome recipe! I took another person's advice and added a few drops of green food coloring as soon as soft peaks formed. After I got stiff peaks, I folded in some mini chocolate chips and peppermint extract. If you like mint chocolate chip ice cream, then you'll LOVE these. I left them in my oven for an hour to cool with the door closed because our house is cold. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe prints as a rigatoni recipe and not the peppermint meringues. You will need to cut and paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My family has made a similar recipe for years, but we only use 1 cup peppermint, and add 12 oz chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
COLD bowl, warm egg whites, 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chenardgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
The lady who said the temperature was wrong, it could be her oven temperature isn't correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eglasgow
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made these and they were great! They melted in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have had a similar recipe that ws lost many years ago. Then I found this one and it is just as wonderful, if not better, than the original one that I had. Takes food coloring really well. I have also used chocolte chips, mini's seem to worki the best, as well as butterscotch and with an assortment of finely chopped nuts. ALL have turned out quite well and greatly enjoyed by all who have received them during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Here are some of the mistakes I made: 1) don't used the 225 degree oven for an hour and a half, It took me 3 tries to get the oven temp adjusted so they wouldn't burn and be soggy in the middle, I used 175 for 1 hour 15 minutes with a 15 minute cool down. (my cookies were about the size of a vanilla wafer (bit size basically) and this worked perfectly) 2) Don't use aluminum foil, parchment paper worked much better 3) Don't add more than 1/4 teaspoon of any coloring or flavoring, without fail it made the batter runny and I could not pipe the pretty "swirls" like there are in so many of the pictures, of course if your just going to spoon it onto the baking sheet then this won't be a big problem for you but it was for me. Overall, I give this recipe 2 stars because it took me 3 batches to make the proper adjustments and the cooking temperature was way off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Gariner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very easy to make..despite my pipping fiasco. I tried using a pipping bag but found it oh so difficult to get the merinque inside the bag. Though I doubled the recipe, I lost a bit of the batter due to the mess. I ultimately ended up using a spoon - which is a tad more difficult in trying to make them uniformly attractive. I will try again with a large plastic bag (so I can seal up the batter) and snip a corner. I used a touch of red food coloring to give a candy cane swipe of color thoughout the cookie - very pretty with the dusting of crushed candy canes. I may try to add a touch of green food coloring next time (w/ the red).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sockmonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The recipe/directions alone I would probably give 3 stars. With just adding about 1/4 tsp. of peppermint extract I would give them 4 stars. Also, the meringues can be much prettier by just piping them through a baggie. Nothing to difficult. I used Andes peppermint baking chips that I had on hand instead of candy canes, and I added just a couple drops of green food coloring. That turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States