Peppermint Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This is an excellent cookie. It was a little tricky to bake, though. They will brown if the oven is too hot. A plain cookie is easy to make too. Substitute 1/2 teaspoon vanilla for all of the crushed peppermint. I piped them with a large star tip and they make pretty cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
They turned out okay... but I made some mistakes that you should avoid. First, be sure to watch the cookies. For me, 90 minutes was too long. Second, if you are piping the meringues out, make sure that the candy canes are very finely crushed. Third, beat the eggs a little longer than you think you should (call it very stiff peaks). Folding in the candy canes causes the eggs to deflate a little bit. And finally, don't add extra peppermint extract like I did... mine are just TOO minty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This cookie was delicious! Sweet and light and perfect for the holidays. My only comment is that the recipe as is only made about 13 cookies, not 54, as the recipes states. If you need a bigger batch of cookies definately double or triple the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Add one tiny drop of red (turns pink)to easily make look as good as there are. Very happy with the outcome. I had just remembered my mom making these when I was a child. They are so easy! Changes I made from reveiwers were a pinch of cream of tartar and lemon juice instead of cider vinegar(didn't have on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef712

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Although these are AWEFUL if you misread the recipe (like I did the 1st time around) and use 1/8 CUP of vinegar vs. 1/8 TEASPOON... When following the recipe, they turn out great! I added 3 drops of pink/red food coloring and 1/4 teaspoon of peppermint and it was just the right amount of minty and sweet. Can't wait to make a bunch for Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
these were the highlight of my christmas season this year. i ended up making several batches. they were described as "all the taste of a candy cane without all the work" by one of my friends. one change that i made is that instead of using candy canes, i used the wrapped peppermint candies, about 15-20. worked just fine and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Quite good, but not the best. An excellent low-calorie dessert. It tasted very much like marshmallows. I made several changes to the recipe: 1) Altered recipe to 28 cookies 2) Used fresh lemon juice in place of vinegar 3) Added a pinch of cream of tartar 4) Instead of peppermint candies/candy canes, I added 1/4 tsp vanilla extract 5) Sprinkled each cookie with unsweetened cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This is an excellent recipe - very light cookies, perfect after a heavy meal. Especially with peppermint ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I am surprised how much I enjoy this cookie. It is really delicious. I didn't have any peppermint extract to add and I was concerned that there wouldn't be enough flavor... WRONG! My oven was too hot and they turned a little brown so I will use a lower temp next time. Less a pastry bag fiasco, these were extremely easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This recipe was amazing! It was easy enough to make with my 8 year old daughter. She loved watching the egg whites turn to meringue. The peppermint made it perfect. It would make an excellent Christmas/Valentines treat. It gave us something to do with all those candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States