Peppermint Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
They turned out okay... but I made some mistakes that you should avoid. First, be sure to watch the cookies. For me, 90 minutes was too long. Second, if you are piping the meringues out, make sure that the candy canes are very finely crushed. Third, beat the eggs a little longer than you think you should (call it very stiff peaks). Folding in the candy canes causes the eggs to deflate a little bit. And finally, don't add extra peppermint extract like I did... mine are just TOO minty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
amazing. i added red food coloring. a party fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This recipe absolutely rocks! This was my first try at meringue cookies and with this recipe, it won't be my last! Easy to do and makes a lot. Tweaked the second batch and made chocolate with Andes pieces and they turned out just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clara City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
LOVE THEM! Great pink color, VERY minty. I took them to various parties, and people LOVED them if they liked mint. or for a classy look to cut down on mint flavor omit folding in the peppermint and just sprinkle on top for the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My mom can't have flour. This is a nice addition to my Christmas cookie plate. I also think it would be a nice topper for Hot Chocolate. For other flour free Christmas cookie recipes, look for Church windows and buckeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Add one tiny drop of red (turns pink)to easily make look as good as there are. Very happy with the outcome. I had just remembered my mom making these when I was a child. They are so easy! Changes I made from reveiwers were a pinch of cream of tartar and lemon juice instead of cider vinegar(didn't have on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef712

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Quite good, but not the best. An excellent low-calorie dessert. It tasted very much like marshmallows. I made several changes to the recipe: 1) Altered recipe to 28 cookies 2) Used fresh lemon juice in place of vinegar 3) Added a pinch of cream of tartar 4) Instead of peppermint candies/candy canes, I added 1/4 tsp vanilla extract 5) Sprinkled each cookie with unsweetened cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
These cookies were really good. I'm not a big candy cane fan, but I liked these. I didn't have any cider vinegar, so I just used regular white vinegar. I even read the recipe incorrectly and instead of using 1/3 of the total candy cane, I put in 1/3 cup and they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I tried my own variation of this recipe and used Cinnamon Imperials instead of peppermint chips. turned out ok. I think they taste a little funny (never the bigest fan of meringue cookies),but after a few seconds, you get that cinnaminy taste, and I LOVE CINNAMON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
these were the highlight of my christmas season this year. i ended up making several batches. they were described as "all the taste of a candy cane without all the work" by one of my friends. one change that i made is that instead of using candy canes, i used the wrapped peppermint candies, about 15-20. worked just fine and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States