Peppermint Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Tasted good. Difficult to get the right consistancy. I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These were very good. I used 1 tsp of vanilla flavoring instead of the peppermints. and I only baked them for 1 hour and 15 minutes instead of the 1 hour 30 minutes. Very Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennyc1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Although these are AWEFUL if you misread the recipe (like I did the 1st time around) and use 1/8 CUP of vinegar vs. 1/8 TEASPOON... When following the recipe, they turn out great! I added 3 drops of pink/red food coloring and 1/4 teaspoon of peppermint and it was just the right amount of minty and sweet. Can't wait to make a bunch for Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used powdered egg whites instead of fresh. I piped the cookies into pretty drops like the picture, but they melted in the oven to a drop cookie shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These cookies are really yummy! Light as a feather and especially good if you add a hint of almond flavoring and that creates a sweet fluffy cloud with notes of crunchiness(from the candy cane) and almond. If I were you, I would add a few more candy canes than the recipe calls for. This not only adds flavor, but some color as well. Please refrain from adding red food coloring as this will most likely turn the cookies brown. I tried that last night and needless to say, they were a bit flushed of color but still tasted wonderful. These cookies are absolutely to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Thanks for all the reviews! I used the recipe and the pointers given. My daughter helped me and sifted the crushed candy so I only used the finely crushed parts. She used the rest for a brownie recipe that called for crushed candy. Only the small ( smaller diameter than a quarter) cookies were dried well. Some larger ones were soft inside, still good but different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great "cookie" to round out a holiday cookie assortment. Made the meringues exactly as recipe stated, with a little less candy cane because I only had 2. I crushed up my candy canes in my mortar and pestle. One fine and the other more coarse to sprinkle on the top. I also piped them out and they look adorable. Oh, I only baked mine for 60 minutes. Start checking them at 45 minutes, knowing they will crisp up more when they cool off. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
DELISH! Just a tad hard to scoop onto the baking pan (couldn't find a pastry bag). I checked on them periodacally while they were baking to make sure they don't overcook. I would highly reccomend to anyone looking for a festive holiday treat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I've recently been placed on a temporary low sodium diet. I'm also trying to lose weight. A recipe for meringue cookies was featured at the Weight Watcher's site today, and I remembered eating them as a child. We called them Forgotten Kisses. I figured the sodium to be quite low, and so wanting a treat, I decided I wanted to make them. But the recipe there calls for baking them at 200 for three hours! I didn't want to wait three hours so I searched here and found this recipe which is very close to the one at the WW site. I did make a couple changes so I could get a lower sodium count, and because I didn't have anything peppermint on hand. I did not put any salt in, and increased the vinegar to 1/4 tsp. I also added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 T unsweetened cocoa powder, and 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips. I only baked them for an hour and they were ready to come out. They are a wonderful way to get that chocolate fix. I only got 14 cookies, so the submitter must make them quite small. I figured each cookie to be 52 calories, 1.5 grams of fat, .5 gram of fiber, and 8 mg of sodium. I remember making these lemon flavor as well growing up and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States