Peppermint Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The candy canes add more chewiness, use less candy canes next time. Other than that they tasted fine. They were the first meringue cookies I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Everyone loves these and they are so pretty! A few things about meringue: it usually doesn't work out on a rainy/damp day. Use a cold bowl and room temp fresh eggs. Then, keep checking while they bake so they don't brown - turn the temp down or off if necessary. Follow the "rules" and they turn out perfect! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I preheated the oven to 350, put the cookies in and set the timer for one minute. After a minute, I shut the oven off and left the cookies in the oven overnight. I also added a teeny bit of cream of tartar (less than 1/8 tsp). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The cookies are great but the recipe DOES NOT under any circumstances make 56 cookies. It is just not possible. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Adorable, low calorie for finicky holiday cookie exchangers and tasy! Super easy except the candy cane powder cemented to my nostrils is a bit potent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
First experience with this type if cookie. Followed directions as written and I am really pleased with the outcome. Looking forward to experimenting with some of the different flavors suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I think this is a great basic meringue cookie recipe, and I must agree with the reviewer who piped them. A star tip clogs if candy pieces are not crushed well, so I just used the round collar to pipe these out. I did use the cream of tartar (1/8 tsp) as recommended by another reviewer. I made these small & bite size but DID NOT get 54 cookies---got about 28-30. I also used the same recipe --deleted the mint candy, added the vanilla & dusted with cocoa as recommended by another reviewer and they were really delicious! Took them to our cookie walk and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The yield is smaller, I was thinking others that were noting that were using cold eggs rather than room temp, but I piped them on the small side and I got 70 out of a double recipe. I also sifted the pepper mints so I used the fine ones in the meringue, and the coarser ones on top. I used to make these when I was. In Girls Scouts, but we put in mini chocolate chips and frosted flakes cereal. Yummy! You can also do green with mini chocolate chips, just break the chips up a bit after a few minutes in the freezer and add a drop or two of mint extract. Also, no real need to be over 200 degrees in te he oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This recipe is perfect, I love it. They came out perfect each time and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I love these little meringues! They are so easy to make and you can pipe them into almost any shape; mushrooms, Christmas trees, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracieCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States