Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are wonderful. Use a candy thermometer if you have one and cook until 235 -takes the guesswork out. I added peppermint oil and omitted the vanilla. We crushed candy canes and some leftover peppermint meringues to dust on top. These are HUGE-filled a 11x7 pan. After they are cut, I shook them in a big platic bag filled with the cornstarch/sugar/crushed candy canes. I'll be making another batch for Christmas Eve cocoa as I don't expect these to last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The formula for this is great, BUT I am rating it low because there is waaay to much peppermint extract in this. I knew it when I was making it, and only added 1 tsp, but it was still way to strong. I highly suggest only using 1/4-1/2 tsp peppermint extract if you want marshmallows for people who don't need a stuffy nose cleared up, and don't need a breathmint. Other than that, the basic formula, and directions were great, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I only made these with vanilla (so no peppermint, at least not yet) and it's SOOOOO easy. When it says to have a hard boil make sure that the entire surface of the liquid is bubbling like crazy. I was a little apprehensive about pouring the whole hot mixture over the gelatin at once (I've only seen "stream in the syrup a little at a time..."), but it worked. Set your timer for 6 minutes and check the marshmallows in the mixture then, my marshmallows were done in 8 minutes. Let it set before you try it, otherwise it tastes like too much gelatin - trust me. Great recipe, especially since one of my boys have an egg allergy. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Really good recipe! If you want to try something different instead of pepermint extract use coconut extract, and top it with coconut toasted before it sets. It turns really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I never knew making my own marshmallows could be so easy! I made a big batch of these to pair with jarred hot cocoa for christmas presents- a big hit with family and friends! Next time I will half the peppermint, as it was bit too much but otherwise very tasty. A little goes a long way! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was an easy recipe and method to follow, and the results are tasty. I messed up and thought I had enough corn syrup, only to discover I didn't. I used about 1/3 cup of pancake syrup (and then omitted the peppermint flavor). So I guess I made butter pecan marshmallows! I can't wait to try these again with the peppermint next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These were very easy to make. I do agree with another reviewer that for MY taste there is a little too much peppermint extract in it. I think I would scale it back to 1-1 1/2t. Other than that, perfect! I used an 8x8 pan and cut it into 36 large chunks, but you can always make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These are amazing!! I've never made marshmallows before, and these came out great. Like others mentioned, I only used 1tsp. of peppermint extract and they taste wonderful. Also some helpful information, "beating the mixture to fluffy and stiff peaks" it never happened...I have a kitchen Aid mixer and set the timer for 12min. all I got out of the deal was marshmallow cream, so I kept on mixing, and mixing. I never got stiff peaks, however when I decided to move forward anyway and followed the directions to the "T" they came out beautiful!! So easy to make, but don't stress out if you don't get stiff peaks. You can flavor these with any flavor you want, so easy and perfect texture. Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was the first time ever making marshmallows. It was easy and delicious. All my friends loved them and were really surprised about them being homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were wonderful! I should have used a 9x9 pan. I used a cookie sheet but the little marshmellows are awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States