Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
There was way too much peppermint extract in these. If I make them again, I will reduce the extract down to a 1/2 teaspoon. They did set up well and had a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was my first time making marshmallows and this was a great first recipe! I only used 1 t. peppermint and it's still a little strong for our tastes so I am dusting them in cocoa powder to help add a different dimension. It was also nice that the mess was minimized with these directions. I'm looking forward to experimenting with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I agree with a couple other posters, there is WAY too much peppermint. I added anotehr tsp of vanilla to try to cut the mint a little but next time I'll use probably 1/2 tsp of mint. I let it set up and then I melted a little on to some warm brownies, just enough marshmallow to cover the top and let it cool and set up again for about 2 hrs. It made really good mint chocolate brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Worth the effort. These marshmallows take hot chocolate to a new level. I followed the recipe exactly, except for omitting the peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very easy to make. I agree with the other reviewers that the peppermint can be a bit overwhelming. My husband and I found it a perfect amount as written if we added the marshmallow to hot chocolate or it was good when I covered the marshmallows in chocolate. However, just straight I would either cut the peppermint in half or maybe even quarter it. The only thing I would add is when starting to mix start low and go higher just because hot candy flying everywhere is dangerous. I know it may be stating the obvious, but it's good to say anyway. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
very sweet, yet the best i've tried. at the suggestion of another reviewer, i only used a little peppermint extract, and they turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
these were great! I cut WAY back on the pepermint though and I was glad I did or else they would have been strong enough to be breath mints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I never knew making my own marshmallows could be so easy! I made a big batch of these to pair with jarred hot cocoa for christmas presents- a big hit with family and friends! Next time I will half the peppermint, as it was bit too much but otherwise very tasty. A little goes a long way! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were wonderful! I should have used a 9x9 pan. I used a cookie sheet but the little marshmellows are awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Super easy recipe!! Thank you. It makes a lot of marshmallows too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States