Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
best marshmallows EVER!! I pray you have fun with this recipe! I've swapped the flavors and rolled it in candy.. and dipped it in chocolate.. sometimes all three! :) You can put peanut flavor in the mallows and dip them in chocolate then dip them in crushed peanuts.. IT's AMAZING!! A great gift for friends! I've tried other recipes.. they never seem to turn out right.. these are easier and firm up great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Too much work and mess for what they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Yummy! I've made these twice but minus the peppermint... I don't think my daughter would eat the minty ones. I used my candy thermometer as another reviewer suggested. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
There was way too much peppermint extract in these. If I make them again, I will reduce the extract down to a 1/2 teaspoon. They did set up well and had a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was my first time making marshmallows and this was a great first recipe! I only used 1 t. peppermint and it's still a little strong for our tastes so I am dusting them in cocoa powder to help add a different dimension. It was also nice that the mess was minimized with these directions. I'm looking forward to experimenting with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I agree with a couple other posters, there is WAY too much peppermint. I added anotehr tsp of vanilla to try to cut the mint a little but next time I'll use probably 1/2 tsp of mint. I let it set up and then I melted a little on to some warm brownies, just enough marshmallow to cover the top and let it cool and set up again for about 2 hrs. It made really good mint chocolate brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Worth the effort. These marshmallows take hot chocolate to a new level. I followed the recipe exactly, except for omitting the peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very easy to make. I agree with the other reviewers that the peppermint can be a bit overwhelming. My husband and I found it a perfect amount as written if we added the marshmallow to hot chocolate or it was good when I covered the marshmallows in chocolate. However, just straight I would either cut the peppermint in half or maybe even quarter it. The only thing I would add is when starting to mix start low and go higher just because hot candy flying everywhere is dangerous. I know it may be stating the obvious, but it's good to say anyway. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
very sweet, yet the best i've tried. at the suggestion of another reviewer, i only used a little peppermint extract, and they turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
these were great! I cut WAY back on the pepermint though and I was glad I did or else they would have been strong enough to be breath mints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States