Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Update: they are done! We dredged them as directed and dipped about 10 in dark chocolate..... How delicious can marshmallows get, seriously. We had fun and have a great treat to show for it. Awesome recipe! I wish there were a second set of stars because it's easy and PERFECT!! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
these were awesome...everyone loved them...what I did use was leftover peppermint candy canes from Christmas and pulverized them in the blender then made them into a syrup on the stove. the flavor was perfect. everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Very tasty! I don't agree at all about too much peppermint, although maybe the peppermint flavoring you get in Ireland is weaker. Also, I used golden syrup instead of corn syrup, because the internet told me it would work and it did :) Very happy with them! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These are amazing!! I've never made marshmallows before, and these came out great. Like others mentioned, I only used 1tsp. of peppermint extract and they taste wonderful. Also some helpful information, "beating the mixture to fluffy and stiff peaks" it never happened...I have a kitchen Aid mixer and set the timer for 12min. all I got out of the deal was marshmallow cream, so I kept on mixing, and mixing. I never got stiff peaks, however when I decided to move forward anyway and followed the directions to the "T" they came out beautiful!! So easy to make, but don't stress out if you don't get stiff peaks. You can flavor these with any flavor you want, so easy and perfect texture. Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are so EASY to make!!! I used Wiltons edible spray paint stuff to make them all sorts of colors. They were so much fun! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
So tasty! Better than store bought! A bit messy but what can you expect from almost 3 cups of sticky whipped sugar?! I didnt have peppermint so I used Cinnaman oil insted (3 drops) and it was just a nice hint of flavor. Would be excellent to bake some into some brownies (which Im planning!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fastergrace
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
They peppermint seemed far too strong at first but I found that, after they sat and firmed up, the mint flavor seemed to mellow a bit. I dipped half of the marshmallows in some melted semisweet chocolate and they were super tasty. If you attempt these with a hand mixer, you'd better have a good one and proceed with caution (my seven speed Kitchen Aid did the trick). About six to seven minutes into beating the sugar/gelatin mixture it will start to get difficult to work with; the mixture may begin to defy gravity and travel up the beater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
best marshmallows EVER!! I pray you have fun with this recipe! I've swapped the flavors and rolled it in candy.. and dipped it in chocolate.. sometimes all three! :) You can put peanut flavor in the mallows and dip them in chocolate then dip them in crushed peanuts.. IT's AMAZING!! A great gift for friends! I've tried other recipes.. they never seem to turn out right.. these are easier and firm up great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Too much work and mess for what they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Yummy! I've made these twice but minus the peppermint... I don't think my daughter would eat the minty ones. I used my candy thermometer as another reviewer suggested. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States