Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Was a wonderful treat, but was alot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyboop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was the first time ever making marshmallows. It was easy and delicious. All my friends loved them and were really surprised about them being homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I only made these with vanilla (so no peppermint, at least not yet) and it's SOOOOO easy. When it says to have a hard boil make sure that the entire surface of the liquid is bubbling like crazy. I was a little apprehensive about pouring the whole hot mixture over the gelatin at once (I've only seen "stream in the syrup a little at a time..."), but it worked. Set your timer for 6 minutes and check the marshmallows in the mixture then, my marshmallows were done in 8 minutes. Let it set before you try it, otherwise it tastes like too much gelatin - trust me. Great recipe, especially since one of my boys have an egg allergy. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Easier and faster than I expected! 12 minutes may have been a little too long to beat the mix with my stand mixer's whisk - by the time I scooped it out it was pretty much too stiff to spread. Or, I might have let the sugar boil a little too long. Still delicious and I was able to smoosh it down into the pan. Just watch your times and use your judgement! I'd like to know when to mix in the cocoa powder for chocolate as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are wonderful. Use a candy thermometer if you have one and cook until 235 -takes the guesswork out. I added peppermint oil and omitted the vanilla. We crushed candy canes and some leftover peppermint meringues to dust on top. These are HUGE-filled a 11x7 pan. After they are cut, I shook them in a big platic bag filled with the cornstarch/sugar/crushed candy canes. I'll be making another batch for Christmas Eve cocoa as I don't expect these to last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Oh wow was this recipe easy. The only problem I ran into was I didn't have the gelatin completely dissolved so when I added the hot sugar syrup mixture, there were some clumps of gelatin mixed in. Some of the clumps were still there in the finished product. Ooops. That was my fault. Otherwise YUM. I didnt add peppermint either. I just wanted plain ones. Thank you so much! I can't wait to try these with smores!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe turned out perfect. I personally don't think it takes 12 min. to whip the mixture. I took them to work and everyone thought they were amazing. They go great with Swiss Miss Dark Chocolate Sensation. My hot chocolate taste like a liquid peppermint patty (Yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very easy, and much tastier than store-bought marshmallows. We made them with vanilla flavoring only, since the hubs doesn't care for peppermint. Packaged them up with hot cocoa mix for gifts. Fun !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The formula for this is great, BUT I am rating it low because there is waaay to much peppermint extract in this. I knew it when I was making it, and only added 1 tsp, but it was still way to strong. I highly suggest only using 1/4-1/2 tsp peppermint extract if you want marshmallows for people who don't need a stuffy nose cleared up, and don't need a breathmint. Other than that, the basic formula, and directions were great, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These were very easy to make. I do agree with another reviewer that for MY taste there is a little too much peppermint extract in it. I think I would scale it back to 1-1 1/2t. Other than that, perfect! I used an 8x8 pan and cut it into 36 large chunks, but you can always make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States