Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars because of the overall product but just for information sake there was ENTIRELY too much peppermint flavoring in there. It left a bad taste in my mouth, almost like medicine. Gonna make again with 1/2 tsp. of each or maybe 1 tsp. of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llissermae
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love them! My first attempt at making marshmallows and it was a success! I didn't have any peppermint extract though so i used peppermint oil. And i only used 1/2 teaspoon of oil. Next time i might go for 1/4 tsp. though, they are a little strong for my taste. Love the recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llissermae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was an easy recipe and method to follow, and the results are tasty. I messed up and thought I had enough corn syrup, only to discover I didn't. I used about 1/3 cup of pancake syrup (and then omitted the peppermint flavor). So I guess I made butter pecan marshmallows! I can't wait to try these again with the peppermint next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Really good recipe! If you want to try something different instead of pepermint extract use coconut extract, and top it with coconut toasted before it sets. It turns really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These were very easy to make. I do agree with another reviewer that for MY taste there is a little too much peppermint extract in it. I think I would scale it back to 1-1 1/2t. Other than that, perfect! I used an 8x8 pan and cut it into 36 large chunks, but you can always make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The formula for this is great, BUT I am rating it low because there is waaay to much peppermint extract in this. I knew it when I was making it, and only added 1 tsp, but it was still way to strong. I highly suggest only using 1/4-1/2 tsp peppermint extract if you want marshmallows for people who don't need a stuffy nose cleared up, and don't need a breathmint. Other than that, the basic formula, and directions were great, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very easy, and much tastier than store-bought marshmallows. We made them with vanilla flavoring only, since the hubs doesn't care for peppermint. Packaged them up with hot cocoa mix for gifts. Fun !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe turned out perfect. I personally don't think it takes 12 min. to whip the mixture. I took them to work and everyone thought they were amazing. They go great with Swiss Miss Dark Chocolate Sensation. My hot chocolate taste like a liquid peppermint patty (Yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Oh wow was this recipe easy. The only problem I ran into was I didn't have the gelatin completely dissolved so when I added the hot sugar syrup mixture, there were some clumps of gelatin mixed in. Some of the clumps were still there in the finished product. Ooops. That was my fault. Otherwise YUM. I didnt add peppermint either. I just wanted plain ones. Thank you so much! I can't wait to try these with smores!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are wonderful. Use a candy thermometer if you have one and cook until 235 -takes the guesswork out. I added peppermint oil and omitted the vanilla. We crushed candy canes and some leftover peppermint meringues to dust on top. These are HUGE-filled a 11x7 pan. After they are cut, I shook them in a big platic bag filled with the cornstarch/sugar/crushed candy canes. I'll be making another batch for Christmas Eve cocoa as I don't expect these to last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States