Peppermint Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I used the Martha Stewart recipe (which is essentially exactly the same just larger proportion sizes to fit 9X13 pan). I only used a teaspoon peppermint extract in the larger recipe...if you used 2 full tsp in this I'd think it would be overwhelmingly pepperminty and I really like peppermint. A couple of tips: cook the syrup to 238, which takes about 9 minutes after it comes to a boil, and use a VERY large pan for this because it will boil over. I used a much too small pan and had to switch it over. Also, although I'm certain it hit 238 during boil, and mixed it with my mixer on high for over 12 minutes and it got very fluffy, it never got to what I would consider "stiff" peaks, like what you'd consider for a meringue. I was worried it wouldn't work. But I put it in my 9X13 (silpat on the bottom helps immensely by the way) and left it overnight. The marshmallows were soft and perfect the next morning. I put crushed up candy canes (before I let them set) on top and kind of pressed them in, and they turned out very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe - it was SO fun to make! The only thing I would change is the amount of peppermint extract to add. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I added only half as much (1 teaspoon) of peppermint extract and that was more than enough. If you're not a huge peppermint fan, I would add just 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint extract. Still a great recipe though. I added a few drops of red food coloring and swirled it in making a pretty pink ribbon of color throughout before pouring it into the prepared pan. Very nice result! I also dusted them with some powdered pink edible glitter dust which I found at a craft supply store (in the candy making section) once I had done the powdered sugar/cornstarch step at the end. The pink glitter "fairy dust" was my 3 year old granddaughter's job - she loved it! Put the marshmallows in a gallon bag (doing several separate batches, maybe 6-10 at a time) and add the glitter dust, shake to coat. Again, they were just beautiful! A great, easy Christmas treat, perfect with hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very easy to follow this was my first time making marshmallows. After reading the previous reviews, I agree to maybe use a candy thermometer or at least to boil till it gets thick. I added essential oil to mine and it was too much peppermint. I will definitely make again and cannot wait to try in my cocoa tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Update: they are done! We dredged them as directed and dipped about 10 in dark chocolate..... How delicious can marshmallows get, seriously. We had fun and have a great treat to show for it. Awesome recipe! I wish there were a second set of stars because it's easy and PERFECT!! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
these were awesome...everyone loved them...what I did use was leftover peppermint candy canes from Christmas and pulverized them in the blender then made them into a syrup on the stove. the flavor was perfect. everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Very tasty! I don't agree at all about too much peppermint, although maybe the peppermint flavoring you get in Ireland is weaker. Also, I used golden syrup instead of corn syrup, because the internet told me it would work and it did :) Very happy with them! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These are amazing!! I've never made marshmallows before, and these came out great. Like others mentioned, I only used 1tsp. of peppermint extract and they taste wonderful. Also some helpful information, "beating the mixture to fluffy and stiff peaks" it never happened...I have a kitchen Aid mixer and set the timer for 12min. all I got out of the deal was marshmallow cream, so I kept on mixing, and mixing. I never got stiff peaks, however when I decided to move forward anyway and followed the directions to the "T" they came out beautiful!! So easy to make, but don't stress out if you don't get stiff peaks. You can flavor these with any flavor you want, so easy and perfect texture. Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are so EASY to make!!! I used Wiltons edible spray paint stuff to make them all sorts of colors. They were so much fun! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
So tasty! Better than store bought! A bit messy but what can you expect from almost 3 cups of sticky whipped sugar?! I didnt have peppermint so I used Cinnaman oil insted (3 drops) and it was just a nice hint of flavor. Would be excellent to bake some into some brownies (which Im planning!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fastergrace
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
They peppermint seemed far too strong at first but I found that, after they sat and firmed up, the mint flavor seemed to mellow a bit. I dipped half of the marshmallows in some melted semisweet chocolate and they were super tasty. If you attempt these with a hand mixer, you'd better have a good one and proceed with caution (my seven speed Kitchen Aid did the trick). About six to seven minutes into beating the sugar/gelatin mixture it will start to get difficult to work with; the mixture may begin to defy gravity and travel up the beater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States