Peppermint Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Peppermint ice cream is one of my favorites. I used to look forward to Christmas time because the major manufacturers would make this. Now I can make it anytime and it is so delicious. The base tastes delicious on its own and I use it for other ice cream flavors, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I was so disappointed with how this turned out, especially since peppermint ice cream is my favorite and I was looking forward to making it the most. To be fair to the original author, I followed the recipe to the tee - with one exception: I followed the advice of many others and replaced half of the vanilla extract with peppermint extract. It tasted bitter. :-/ Perhaps it would have been better with the vanilla as written. While cooking the mixture, I noticed tiny pieces of cooked egg showing up. I followed the recipe exactly, but ended up having to strain the whole mixture - and there was a ton of it in there. I was surprised this recipe didn't call for tempering like other ones do. Bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
good. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I don't know how I forgot to review this. But this was amazing Icecream!! Followed the recipe. It has become a tradition for the winter holidays in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
One word: AMAZING! This ice cream is so good that I've already made it twice in one month! I used my Kitchenaid ice cream mixer and followed the recipe exactly. Thank you so much for sharing.. peppermint icecream will forever be served to my family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Delicious. I made it just as specified using our cuisinart ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Perfect ice cream 5 stars really, really good ice cream!!! This is the second Christmas in a row I've made it and all of my relatives loved it!!! I'm sure your relatives will like it, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful ice cream recipe. It is very creamy and although it gets hard in the freezer, it somehow remains "scoopable" rather than turning into a rock that defies the scoop. I've made it during the summer as a refreshing dessert and I am making it now for a Christmas treat. Just omit the peppermint and you have a delicious french vanilla style ice cream. Did that this past Thanksgiving for a great accompaniment to the pies. When making the peppermint ice cream, I also split the flavorings between vanilla and peppermint as others have suggested. The easiest way to crush the peppermint is to put the candies in a baggie and hammer them. It takes seconds, they come out the perfect size, and you don't have the processor bowl to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Don't sub mint extract for peppermint. Ewe. Did not work AT ALL. Made it with 2t vanilla & 2t peppermint and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
FABULOUS!! Thanks, Berneice!! Best freakin ice cream recipe I have ever met! EVER!! I now use this base for every ice cream custard I make. If I am doing peach ice cream, or coffee toffee ice cream, I back off the sugar a bit!! It is just remarkable. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States