Peppermint Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
this looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is a great recipe. I increase the peppermint extract to 1/2 tsp. For the crushed candies, I've found that it works best to separate the "dust" fom the chunks. I stir the dust into the fudge (after it's done cooking), then place the larger pieces on top. This makes it pretty. 1/4 cup is about 10 round candies. Once the mixture starts to boil, I turn the heat down to low-medium and only boil for about 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I am not sure what has gone wrong. After 24 hours my fudge is still not solid. I followed the recipe, but realized I picked up skim evaporated milk. Would this cause it to be soupy and not solid? It is almost like mousse...flavor is great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
my family has a similar recipe for fudge, and the addition of peppermint bits is a nice one (we also like to add a bit almond liqueur and some chopped pecans). a word to the wise about making fudge: candy is a science (chemistry, actually) and it's also one of those things that you only 'get' after a lot of trial and error. this recipe allows for the use of margarine, i would caution against it. not only is margarine hydrogenated (i.e. bad for you) but it lacks the fats that butter has which will give your fudge that smooth and creamy texture. also, knowing when you've reached a 'full rolling boil' is hard to define, but if you *don't* your fudge will not set properly (and if you let it go too long after, your fudge will be hard as a rock.) just a heads up for future fudge makers, don't be afraid to keep trying - after all, the best part is eating your mistakes!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
While the fudge was easy to make, I found it dry and heavy. The texture was just not very pleasant. I'd also leave out the peppermint extract - I found the flavor overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
A melt in your mouth recipe that is quick and easy. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Easy to make, and delicious. Note that you really do need to add the peppermint candies on top to get more of a pepperminty flavor. I recommend adding more extract if you'd like the fudge to have more of a peppermint flavor from within. I'm giving this 3 stars instead of 4 because I already have an excellent fudge recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
it was ok...probably better with more mint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookelynn6781

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
a little too chocolatey for me, I added vanilla jello mix and 1/2 cup more marshmellows and swirled it in to the fudge until it had a marbled look... it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeni
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States