Peppermint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made these this morning following the recipe exact only using Andes peppermint crunch baking chips instead of crushed candy canes. I loved that I did not have to refrigerate the batter, I just mixed it up and was able to bake it right away. These cookies were done at nine minutes and once I pulled them off the sheet and let them cool on the kitchen counter, they were absolutely wonderful. One of the best sugar cookies I've ever had--they are soft, chewy and perfect. They look like something you'd get from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These basic sugar cookies are very festive topped with crushed peppermint sticks. My kids love these, and they're great for your holiday cookie swap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinebelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Really good with the addition of the crushed peppermint sticks/candy canes!!! ..I'm so glad you added the kitchen note of how much shortening in cup measurements as we don't have "sticks" of butter/shortening here in Canada.. I looked forward to trying it! Thank-you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These turned out very flat for me and were extremely hard to get off the cookie sheet after the two minutes of cooling - they pretty much fell apart. The cookies themselves taste fine, but I won't make again due to the fact that they just didn't turn out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Incredibly delicious!!!! A wonderful holiday treat. I also took another members advice and used andes peppermint chips.. Thank you... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is an absolutely no-fail recipe, with delicious flavor, a festive holiday look, and dough that is easy to handle. I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out fabulously! I got 50 small cookies out of my batch. 10 minutes in the oven was perfect for that wonderful texture of slightly crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Use parchment paper to avoid sticking. Be sure to gently PRESS the candy into the cookie immediately after removing from oven. Also, I advise that you crush the peppermint candy to pieces that are about the size of MINI chocolate chips. Don't over-crush like I did -- powdered candy does not convey the desired effect! They look and taste wonderful...I'm giving these cookies away as gifts for Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
NOT impressed. Peppermint stuck to the cookie sheets- what a mess! At least the crumbles tasted good. NEVER again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cork1035
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Awesome holiday cookies. Made exactly as written. I will make these often and probably even again in a few days because I know they won't last long around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Wonderful! I tried this with 3/4 C Splenda, 1/4 C sugar and 3/4 C + 1/8 C butter and the cookies turned out wonderfully tender and rich. They're especially good topped with a mix of mint chocolate and crushed mint candy. So festive. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've made this twice. The first time I made exactly as directed and I ruined half of them because they stuck to the cookie sheet so bad. The taste was great though and everyone at work requested I make them again. So, I did with some changes. First, I used 1/2 C butter flavored Crisco and 1/4 C salted butter instead of all Crisco. Second, I buttered the cookie sheets. Third, let the cookies cool on the cookie sheets on cooling racks for more like 5 minutes. Fourth, butter the spatula after every other cookie or so. I only ruined 2 cookies the second time. I rated this recipe based on my first attempt following the directions exactly. The taste was 5 star. The stickiness and difficulty brought the overall score to 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States